Party like its 1989 and what I want to be when I grow up


Advertisement
Armenia's flag
Asia » Armenia » West » Yerevan
November 15th 2007
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


First, today is 1989 throwback day in Armenia. And I don't mean they
are wearing "throwback" jerseys. For the upcoming election, I think it
is in January or February, one of the candidates was president back in
1989. As a protest against him by the other candidate, who must still
be in government, Armenians do not have heating oil today. A little
reminder of what life was like back during this guy's tenure - no
electricity, no heat, food shortages, etc. I think it's a great
campaign strategy. I think my feet might fall off they are so cold.

I am also mapping out a new career path while I'm here. You know that
I want to work overseas, right? Well, I think I'm going to sign up as
a security guard for a donor-funded project. Our security guard, I
think there may be four actually on the project, sits at a desk by the
front door, in front of the receptionist.

His job is to protect those of us in the project office. From what you
might ask? I am not sure, but perhaps the populace is planning to
bum-rush the primary health care reform project and make off with
behavior change communication posters. This is a serious situation.
I'm obviously just kidding. But I do want his job. He has a computer,
internet, books to read, a phone, a television with cable. He's often
out front chatting with the drivers, of which there are three, who are
also milling around in front of the TV or reading.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb