Leaving for Europe: Maersk Pecem


Advertisement
Antarctica » Temp
July 18th 2006
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Maersk PecemMaersk PecemMaersk Pecem

In the middle of the night I went on board.
Walking at night from the nearest bus stop into the harbour territory I ended up at Newark Airport. Some taxi driver who was quite familiar with the place finally got me to the right dock. But he said he had never been to this part of Newark and was unsure if this was still officially US territory and he was allowed to drive in the place with his taxi. When I finally walked up the gangway of Maersk Pecem it was in the middle of the night and I had not noticed any official border.
The time on board was one of the best times I had during all my travels. Philippine food is not my favourite but I definitely enjoyed listening to the 20kn head wind at the bow of the 200m colossus passing through the waves of Atlantic ocean while the places I had been to where passing through my mind.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

GangwayGangway
Gangway

Ready to leave.
Crew membersCrew members
Crew members

An all Philipines crew.
Going eastGoing east
Going east

Leaving New York Bay.
The MachineThe Machine
The Machine

A tremendous power source.
ShaftShaft
Shaft

Connecting the machine with the ship's propeller.
GalleryGallery
Gallery

Philippine food - naturally.
Breaking DaylightBreaking Daylight
Breaking Daylight

View from my cabin.
Bulbous BowBulbous Bow
Bulbous Bow

Cutting throug wave after wave.
BridgeBridge
Bridge

High above the main container deck.


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb