My first week at the alvarez home


Advertisement
Antarctica » Temp
January 13th 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me and Meleny Me and Meleny Me and Meleny

We were on the horse carriage looking for Berenice!
Hola,
I have been very busy and keeping my friends even busier.

I missed my first flight from OKC, I was late!! I had this huge box that weighed 100lbs, I was bringing it for Berenice's family. I thought I had everything worked out, I went to the airport the day before and weighed it. When I went to check my bags they told me their was an imbargo on boxes to Guadalajara: ( I left the box with the baggage guy (big no no) Deby came and got the box and I ran to get the next flight to Dallas.
I was on standby to Mexico, and thankfully had no problems. I took pictures on the airplane but I can't find them.

My friends picked me up from the airport about 3pm and we haven't stopped since then.
That night we went Tlaquepaqua (clockepocky kind of) - say that three times fast- it's the side of town that Berenice grew up and it has this really cool zocalo (town square) were they have Mariachi's and nice restuarants.

TUESDAY
I had breakfast with Berenice and her son Miguel, at noon we went to pickup her daughter Meleny from her school.

Berenice has school m-f for English. Her school is near "El Centro" the town central so I hang out with Meleny everyday and we go to McDonald's and then sight see. Miguelito is in school from 1-5pm (wierd huh)

I forgot to tell you what happened --- I was with Berenice's sister-in-law Lily the first day that we went to el centro, she doesn't speak any english. She was looking for shoes for her mother and then had to leave to fix dinner for her kids. She told me in spanish to wait for Bere at a certain place but not an exact time. Anyway, I have to hurry, I thought Bere was coming like in an hour but it was more like three. After two hours I was getting worried and Lily told me to wait in that exact place!!!! I decided we should ride in the horse buggy around the el centro to look for Bere. Meanwhile the guy driving the buggy was talking in spanish about all the sites and I am looking for Bere cause I'm really freaked out. My cell phone is dead and I have no idea where they live and I have their 3 year old daughter......aaaahhggggg
No worries all ended okay and we all got a big laugh from it and they tell all the family and it's a big family.
I put several pictures of me and Meleny on the pictures thing.

Wednesday:

Ditto....more pictures of me and Meleny

Thursday:
in the am, Berenice, miguelito and me went to Tonala - the really cool city (suburb) that is filled with a giant flea market!!! Mom and Dad you would be lost there for many days and we still might not be able to find you....haha.

I bought way too much stuff...and I have to bring back like 4 or 5 bags. Imagine me at the airport in OKC...that's gonna be funny!!

That night we were going to go to church but it was very late by the time Miguel got off work so we missed it. about 8:30 they decided to go bowling since the weekend would be very busy. It was so much fun, Miguel's two brother's and their girlfriends went and we had a good time.

Friday:
We did basically the same thing and I am very tired from walking. But I am having a great time!!!
Love you all and will write more later
Michelle

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb