I'm a Billionaire!


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Victoria Falls
August 31st 2011
Published: October 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

M - And it only cost me US$3!

... but the chap in front of me on the bus was a Trillionaire!


As you are probably aware Zimbabwe is a mess at the moment and has rampent inflation as one of many of its problems. As a result the locals sell large denomination notes for a few bucks. I managed to get my $50 billion note for US$3 but I never did find what my fellow tourist paid for his $10 Trillion note. I suspect it may have been a little more.

We were actually a little surprised when our day trip to Victoria Falls ran via the road route from Botswana to the visit the falls on the Zimbabwe side. We thought we might have to take the ferry and visit from the Zambia side which is a lot more hassle.

Our trip across the boarder was pretty uneventfull apart from being delayed 30 mins by a checkpoint operator who wanted a bribe to let our driver through as he only had a copy of his insurance as a opposed to the original document. The tour operator scambled and produced the original from their office in Kasane. Apparently this was the first time in 10 years that this had happended and the driver wouldn't budge on principle even though the bribe was pretty small - which we were happy to go along with.

The Falls were very impressive, just enough waterflow to make for plenty of mist and spray to keep you cool but not so much that you coudn't see the Falls themselves. Kate had visited the Falls many years ago but on her visit apparently they were pretty dry and not nearly as good as we saw on this trip. I was happy they were more impressive for her this time as we are repeating quite a few places on this trip that Kate has already been to. This time though she didn't see them quite as close as last time. Some of you may know (you may have even seen the photo on our wall) that on her last trip she did a bungy jump off the bridge.

The bungy ropes were there again but we didn't see anyone take a jump and I can't say I am surprised.

Its a long way down and I really wasn't tempted!

Keep scrolling down to enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb