I'm here!!


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Victoria Falls
September 22nd 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone
Just thought I'd quickly get on and let you know that I've arrived safe and sound in Vic Falls, Zimbabwe. It took a mammoth amount of flying to get here but wow it's all so worth it now that I'm here! I met up with my Jac, Kath and Kate in Johannesburg late on Sunday, they'd flown in for Uganda earlier in the morning and were waiting for me out on the lawn with a glass of wine to help me with my jet lag.

On Monday morning (yesterday) we caught our flight up to Victoria Falls and wow was it hot....especially while we queued up for an hour to get our entry visa. I was so happy to see my pack at the baggage collection and all my stuff was still intact...double bonus!

So now here we are staying at the Vic Falls Rest Camp complete with pool, restaurant and bar, we're making the most of it as we know it'll be downhill from here. I went on an elephant safari this morning which was amazing, although I do have a sore bum now from all the jiggling around. I've spent the afternoon lying by the pool trying to get over my jet lag once and for all and catch up on the sleep I didn't get last night as it was extremely hot in our little chalet.

We meet the rest of our tour group tonight at our pre tour briefing.....we're sure that we'll drag the average age up somewhat! We spend tomorrow in Vic Falls as well, we're off to the falls in the morning then have a canoe tour booked...called the sunset wine tour....should be fun :-)

Then on Thursday we're off to the Chobe National Park in Botswana.

Sorry no photos at the moment, I'll try to get a better internet connection as this ones pretty slow.

Will catch you all in a few days time.

Trace
XX

Advertisement



22nd September 2009

hello!!!
Hey Trace!! So pleased that your trip is off to a good start.Sounds fabulous, especially the sunset wine tour...no regrets chucking that job in I'm sure. Enjoy. See you in Qatar soon, still in the 40's here!!! Love The Storm's xxxx
22nd September 2009

sore bum.
Hi Hotty!! Glad you have made it saftely. A great first entry sounds like you are going to have a blast but you lost me once you mentioned your sore bum and all the jiggling around. Sorry but that's just the way I think lol. And you don't have to talk to me about being hot coz I know you are. Anyway enjoy the trip I will watch with close interest please keep it clean from now on... Luv Troy.
22nd September 2009

Have a wonderful time!!
Hi Trace, Glad u arrived safely. Have a great trip, sounds awesome already. Take care and look forward to seeing u back in NZ. Trudi xx
23rd September 2009

Well done
Glad you made it safe and well.....
23rd September 2009

ah......nothing quite like the African sun to heat your bones. That, and the smell of the veld just when it starts to rain.....mmmm starting to be tempted to go back for a visit. While you are swanning around under trees, keep a look out for Mopani fruit which is quite nice once it ferments a bit.

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb