St Bonaventure College


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Lusaka
June 17th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wake up girls!Wake up girls!Wake up girls!

Easy to wake up after cold showers! They forgot to flip a switch for hot water!
The Zambia 14 survived their first night in Lusaka. Their first morning began with their first mass at the beautiful chapel at Rivortorto Friary. Fr John Lesa was the celebrant and officially welcomed the group to their first full day.

A bit overwhelming looking at the boxes that filled a bus the night before but by the time lunch was over, they got working on separating and unpacking and resorting all the gifts and donations they brought with them.

Tomorrow they have their first full day of working on a much needed school for Special Needs, Hidden Voice.

Enjoy these few pictures, it is not easy uploading pics with slow internet.

Sandy


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Getting ready for readingsGetting ready for readings
Getting ready for readings

Fr John Lesa shows Artie the 1st reading
Mass at ChapelMass at Chapel
Mass at Chapel

Coming together after a long trip.
At the TableAt the Table
At the Table

Fr invited the group to receive Communion at the Lord's table


17th June 2009

Great to see/hear
Sandy, Thanks for the update and particularly the pictures. Thanks for all of your work preparing the way and helping the group prepare for their experience. Zambia 14, I cannot tell you how much you are in our thoughts throughout the day...thinking where you are over the ocean, wondering if you had trouble with the boxes in Lusaka, imagining what your accomodations are like, picturing the excitement as people meet you and as you meet your hosts.... we think about you constantly. My co-workers here at Regis all ask how the trip is going and I keep showing them the blog. I hope the blessings and grace you have experienced during your first few days continues.
20th June 2009

Welcome to Zambia
Dear Gracious Friends from O.L.P. Parish, Special greetings to you from Ancona - Italy! I feel over thrilled to be in touch with you through this email that I am sending to you now. I have been following your events about your trip to Zambia though in Italy with the help of Sandy our dear mum whom we cherish so much. Though miles away from you at the moment, I welcome you to my country of origin - Zambia. Be assured of my fervent prayers in all your endeavours whilst in Zambia. I do hope that what you will experience in Zambia will widden your horizons in your life. Well, my USA experience when I togehter with 7 Zambians visted your beautiful country in 2006 on your big day - the so called THANKSGIVING, 22nd November was a memorable one and widdened my horizons about the nice American (USA) people much more than what I used to hear about and watch on television sets. Furthermore, I had even an opportunity to preside at some of your Masses in Conifer, Co in 2006 with the permission of your former Parish Priest, Fr. Reuben. My conclusion was and is still today that pepole are generally good and nice to mingle with wherever one goes. Once again, welcome to Zambia and have a wonderful experience. Bearing in mind the Friars and our new administration, I wish Megan (who is in Zambia for the second time now) and our mum Sandy (in her second home away from home - USA) to really expose you to the different life situations in Zambia. In a special way, I would like to thank the Parish Priest and all the parishioners of Our Lady of the Pines, Conifer - USA for their support to us in Zambia, especially the Friars and for making your trip a reality. May our Our Lady of the Pines - Mother Mary intercede for you always. Bye for now! MWAISENI - WELCOME TO ZAMBIA. Sincerely yours, Fr. Charles Mukuka (Note: The pictures posted on wedsite or facebook are great, especially the first Mass you had with my confrere, Fr. John Lesa at Rivotorto in Lusaka)
26th June 2009

MoMo
Hey Mo! I just wanna Say I'm very proud of you doing this and I miss you it's weird not having you here!! I love you I hope your enjoying Africa!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb