The Old Switcheroo - Ed Moves to Lusaka


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Lusaka
April 4th 2007
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

TDAU - The Technology Development and Advisory UnitTDAU - The Technology Development and Advisory UnitTDAU - The Technology Development and Advisory Unit

Promoting appropriate technology products and services for the creation of wealth and employment and the reuduction of pvoerty.
Do you remember that time when I mentioned that I lived in a city called Kitwe and worked for an organization called ZATAC? Yeah, so that’s not so accurate any more.

It’s a fairly long and boring story, but basically the situation was that the EWB-ZATAC partnership on this project was such that EWB (i.e. me) wasn’t in a position to be able to add much value to the project. First, the project was struggling with a variety of factors beyond my (and in many cases, ZATAC’s) control. In addition, ZATAC was more interested in me playing more of a gap-filling as opposed to a value-added role, which is not EWB’s focus.

It was an amicable break-up, though. I still keep in touch with my friends at ZATAC and will be taking a trip up there over the next month or so.

While I enjoyed my time with ZATAC and learned plenty about development, agriculture and rural livelihoods in Zambia, it is very important to me to be able to play a role in strengthening an organization’s long-term ability to reduce poverty, and this is an opportunity that has certainly presented itself in my new partner: The
TDAU's Interlocking Block PressTDAU's Interlocking Block PressTDAU's Interlocking Block Press

TDAU's marquee product - a machine that create bricks that fit together like lego that build strong structures at reduced costs.
Technology Development and Advisory Unit (TDAU), based in Zambia’s capital, Lusaka.

TDAU is a research and development consultancy based at the University of Zambia, Zambia’s largest university. We design and develop appropriate technology solutions for development in Zambia.

It may seem ironic that while I am an engineer working in an organization that does engineering design and manufacturing, I am actually working in the marketing department. Perhaps I should explain.

EWB looks to play a value-added role with our partner organizations. We hope that through our partnerships that our partners can become more effective and efficient organizations. I, however, can’t play this role by, for example, designing a new honey extraction press. TDAU is very strong in the area of engineering design. They have two engineers with years and years of experience in appropriate technology.

EWB has worked with TDAU before through our Junior Fellowship overseas sending program - four-month placements for students. Through these placements, TDAU and EWB have come to the conclusion that marketing is the area in which EWB can help TDAU improve itself in order to become stronger as an organization. I will be able to add value thanks to my engineering
President Levy Mwanawasa Visits TDAUPresident Levy Mwanawasa Visits TDAUPresident Levy Mwanawasa Visits TDAU

The President being shown an interlock block press by Dr. Tambatamba, Manager of TDAU.
background and my experience working directly with those in developing communities with ZATAC.

And how do I do that exactly? I'll save that for another post.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Meeting with Mrs. Kabuya in KakoloMeeting with Mrs. Kabuya in Kakolo
Meeting with Mrs. Kabuya in Kakolo

The experience I gained at ZATAC in working with rural farmers will play an important role in me helping TDAU better deliver its products and services to reduce poverty.


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb