The Birthday Of My Life?


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
February 21st 2006
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So There I was at my secend border post in three days wondering what lay ahead of me and after handing over my GBP35 I returned to the bus eagerly awaiting the next country on my list of countries.

I waited on the bus some more. And abit more. Just to make sure we weren't in a hurry immigratrion kept us waiting some more.

After two hours we were on our way for the last two hours of the journey to the adventure sports capital of the world and home of one of the seven natural wonders of the world, Victoria Falls.

I got there about 1 in the afternoon and after booking into Jolleyboys I went out into Zambia to do some shopping and too see what Zambia was like.

I now knew that I had arrived in the 3rd world.

Zambia very much remided of what my mothers home town in Pakistan was like 15 or so years ago. The roads were so bad that the drivers actually drove on the dirt next to the road. Every where I went I was asked if I wanted a taxi, or if I wanted to buy a copper bracelete, or anything else that they had for sale.

Next up was the old need for food. (It has actually occurred to me that I keep mentioning supermarkets, but I've got to eat and there's probably no easier way of comparing prices in different countries) Was the food going the be more expensive that SA or Namibia? I could certianly do with the budget being reignerd in for a little while.

The answer? Supermarket prices are actually more than they are in England. I had actually managed to land myself for a week in one of the most expensive countries in Africa. Doh!

I booked my ticket to Lusaka, so that I could arrange my Tanzanian visa and went back to Jolleyboys .

I then received a text from Jenny, a friend from university, wishing me a happy birthday.

Thank you for reminding me!

I had actually forgotten my own birthday!

Tomorrow was another day and another city, I decided that Victoria Falls could wait until I returned in a few days time.


Advertisement



7th April 2006

Your foreign birthday!
Does that mean that this year doesn't count? and you stay a healthy looking 34 years old? I wonder if it is a little like area codes when people cheat on their other halves . . . . . . . . . . time for a debate meybe!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 18; qc: 84; dbt: 0.086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb