Church day


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Church
I went to church with Molly & Paul. The church has 3 services. 2 in the morning 1 at night, then on wednesday morning at 5am they have one specificly for workers.
It was another humbling day for me. Even though we don't speak the same langue the spirit of God that is within us transended language. I was able to praise God with them. It was amazing.
The sermon was about Acts 5: being a witness. And that our testimony is our witness to others about Christ, and what he has done in our lives. The transformation that should occur at salvation time should be a witness to others. People should see a change. And even if you were born in a Christian home you have a testimony about God keeping his hand of protection on you, and growing you.
I was overcome with the fact that in America we tend to describe people by hair/eye color and that is why we think all asians or africans look the same because we don't have that distinction when trying to describe them. With these cultures where hair/eye color is the same you have to slow down a bit and look deeper. The difference abound when looking deeper. Nose shapes, eye sets, facial structure, even skin tone varies. It is amazing to think God made all this variety.
I underestimated the power of jet lag. I didn't think I felt bad yesterday till I awoke this morning. The first thought was,"wow, I feel so much better. I think that's why I was so emotional. Today, I only cried 3-4 times. Church made me well up a couple of times and when I thought of Garry, that made well up. I can’t believe how much I miss you. Definitely a new appreciation for you.
Today the power was off and on. The internet wasn't working. 3rd world developing nation.
I was so blessed by these people hope you enjoy the pics. the church has about 3000 members. When they start to worship its a full areobic workout. I could feel the heat coming off their bodies they were dancing and jumping and clapping.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



25th June 2008

Just thinking of yuh!
Hey babe I was just looking at the pictures they are great. Sounds like you got some rest which was needed after your long days of flying. IT seems like you found the same thing as I did when we went to Mexico. I cound not understand what they were singing but through the HOLY SPIRIT I could understand. I am sure you have fallen in love with them already. Now is there anything I can ask people to pray for you, or the pople their with you. I am fasting every other day at lunch so I can pray for your needs. I also am praying for Garry and the kids so if there is anything they need prayer for that you know of I will do that as well. I am so glad to hear from you each time. LOVE YOU Fran
27th June 2008

Just Hi
It has been a week already, it seems like it has gone fast to us, how about you? I bet Garry and the kids think it has been even longer. When do we see some pictures of you? I showed a couple of the kids here the pictures of Africa that you have sent so far. They thought it was awesome, yet primitive. We have asked you to send us any specific prayer requests, but haven't seen any yet. Is there some place special that we should be looking for them? Otherwise we will continue to pray in general terms. I think you have left Paul and Molly's home by now, right? Stay rested and look forward to seeing more pictures and explanations that go with them. Let's see some of Kim, O.K. We love you and are proud of your adventurous spirit. We are now at the teen center with kids everywhere. We need to get back to them, but wanted to drop you a line. It is almost 7:00 PM here, so it is almost 3:00 AM in Africa according to Garry, there is 8 hours difference, not 6 we were thinkiing. Love you Dad and Fran

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb