Bringing Galentine's Day to the Kigo Girls


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
February 16th 2022
Published: February 16th 2022
Edit Blog Post

In the morning our knitting class continued. The women have really got into knitting so I have extended the classes we focus on it. One of the students: Violet who is also the cleaner at the office and the mother of Maria, has become a co-teacher. I will teach her a stitch and once she has it mastered she will then help the women who have limited English as it is easier for her to explain it to them. I think it has given her some great self confidence that she is learning so quickly and then can teach others. The women have lots of interesting conversations that I get parts of from English words thrown in and Rhita translating for me. But, I do wish I had one of those headsets they use in UN meetings so I could always know what people are saying.



In the afternoon I taught basic bookkeeping to the women. It took a bit for them to get the concept, but once they did, they saw how valuable it would be when running their businesses. For ones that already have an active business I asked them to try to go back to Feb 1st and record all of their debits and credits and bring it back to class next time. I will be interested to see how they do.



I also got to see Percy at Irene’s house who extended a big thank you (thank you again Sandy) on assistance with her fees for national testing. Percy is in their version of 10th grade and if the students want to take the National exams used for post high school education they have to pay for that separately from school fees. Her dedication to her schooling is amazing. Not only does she primarily care for herself when it comes to making meals, doing laundry etc but she also spends extra hours at school studying with the boarding students and works in the kitchen.



We have slowly passed out some of the clothing I brought when we identify women or girls particularly in need. It is fun to see them a few days later looking smart as the say in clothes I recognize. Zaphariah who is one of the girls who didn't have the school fees to go back after COVID so joined my older women's group was looking confident and smart in her athleisure outfit.



Valentine’s Day is a big thing in Uganda. It was brought to the country in early 1990s by a radio host and they haven’t looked back. Every restaurant and bar had events planned with DJs, bands, and dancers. Lots of couples were out in matching outfits ready to celebrate. I decided to bring Galentine’s Day to the Kigo Girls: what I named the WhatsApp chat for Hope, Irene and me. Speaking of which when I first gave the group chat that name the girls asked me why. I said it’s because it’s the name of the street we live on….Directions, especially using street names, is not really a thing here. So even though Hope has lived in this house for 8 months she didn’t know the name of the road haha. Most of the time when we are driving somewhere unfamiliar I am the navigator which is very funny to me. This can even include when I’m with a tour guide. We would have never found the airstrip in Bwindi this weekend if I had not been navigating.



For Galentine’s Day we got dressed up and made a few stops around Entebbe. I suggested matching outfits, but surprise surprise the girls didn’t have anything to match me ? Irene was even the DJ for awhile at one of the stops. I hope they continue to grow the tradition in the years to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



16th February 2022

Love your blog
My morning breakfast includes reading your blog. It us a great start to the day. You are doing amazing work. You are missing the cold here.
16th February 2022

Hi Gwen
Hi Gwen - that is so nice of you to share! I am glad it had been interesting. I have really enjoyed the work I am doing here and I am sad to start thinking about when I come home. I will miss these ladies!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb