Down the hill to fetch a pail of water


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Mukono
January 26th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The long walk to the "well"The long walk to the "well"The long walk to the "well"

Patricia and Rose ahead of me during the long walk to the local water source.
Earlier this week, Rose and Patricia, two young girls that are living at VOLSET's dorm, asked me to come with them to fetch water before dinner. I'd seen the sign in the bathing room that said "please use water sparingly as we need to carry it uphill." By uphill, I'd assumed that they meant the small slope of our backyard.

We set out, each with two jerry cans in hand. After about 5 minutes of walking I asked the girl where the well was. They laughed, "it's in the forest!" I couldn't remember seeing a forest nearby, but I kept silent and we continued to walk.

Eventually we came to a forest path that sloped steeply downward. "Why are you so slow?" the girls yelled back at me. When I told them I was terrified that I'd fall and break my neck- the hill was littered with huge pot holes- they shrieked with laughter. (I feel like a bit of a comedian here, everything I say is unintentionally hilarious).

We finally came to a clearing with a single pipe sticking out of a concrete block and at least ten kids gathered around. They each had jerry cans, old
Ariana and the kids filling up the water jugsAriana and the kids filling up the water jugsAriana and the kids filling up the water jugs

Another VOLSET volunteer, Ariana, and the kids fill up the water jugs.
bleach bottles, really any sort of receptacle that could hold water. We waited patiently while a child who could not be much older than 4 years old expertly lined up all of the bottles and began to fill them up one by one. I was amazed to see him lift some of the heavier bottles.

Once our jerry cans were full, the kids hoisted the 8-10L jugs onto their heads and began to walk up the hill. I was given two 10L jugs, which felt like they weighed 100 pounds each.

My arms were burning and I was panting and sweating. The kids patiently waited for me as I stopped every 15 feet for a rest, their jugs balanced perfectly on their heads. Some didn't even hold on.

I'm embarrassed to admit, but about 1/4 of a kilometer from the volunteer house, an 8 year old offered to trade his smaller jugs with me because he was getting tired of stopping so often. It was humiliating, but I was relieved.

I doubt I would take so many baths at home if I had to walk that path 5 times and then boil the water over a
Carrying the water backCarrying the water backCarrying the water back

The kids carry the water back on their heads.
fire to fill up the tub. Since I started helping with the water collection, I've become even more efficient with my evening "bird baths".

When they say it comes up a hill, they mean it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

RoseRose
Rose

Rose doesn't even need to use her hands.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb