Final Reflections (and a few photos!)


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
August 17th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

for export!for export!for export!

These keychains are being made for World of Good, a fair trade company in the US. They're really pretty!
It's my second-to-last night here in the Blue Mango, so I'm starting to get reflective on my trip so far. I've been so many places, met so many incredible people, and seen some pretty amazing things on my journey. At times I have been hopeless, lonely, and angry. Others, I've been contented, amazed, and humbled. Overall, the past two months have been an incredible experience that I would not trade for the world.

I have learned that reaching out to others always pays off. I've learned to be critical of even the most put-together, well-meaning organizations. I've learned to be patient with myself, and how to be patient with others when it seems there is nothing in common between you. I've learned loads about all sorts of cultures - Masai, Chagga, Buganda, even Irish. I've learned how to speak a bit of Luganda and a bit of Swahili. And most of all, more than ever, I've learned that people are people, no matter where you go.

My final week here has been really great. On Saturday I got to go to a Bugandan Catholic wedding (which was interesting, although the whole thing was in Luganda). Then, my friend Muireann,
New friendsNew friendsNew friends

Myself, Frances, and Muireann right before the wedding.
her fiance, a Scottish friend of hers, and I went to a local bar nearby and spent the evening chatting about everything. It was a perfect weekend night.

On Monday, I got to visit two women's homes out away from Kampala, to do interviews and be a guest in their house. I brought a translator along with me, and was humbled by my reception in the women's homes. They were so very generous and kind, and we had a great time looking through old family photos and talking.

This week, about 20 women have been training to weave a new basket for Ten Thousand Villages (check it out at a store soon!), so they've all been around the shop. I've spent lots of time watching the women weave, taking pictures, and working on my basket as well. Every time I showed my basket to a few of the wome they began clapping - they are so supportive of my feeble effort!

I've also had the chance to catch up briefly with Laura (and another Madison friend, Kelsi) who has been traveling around Uganda for the past three weeks. As always, it is good to see Laur -
brand new basketbrand new basketbrand new basket

She made this in just one day!
especially abroad!

As I prepare to leave, I'm excited for what is ahead of me at home (warm showers, cheese, not being a spectacle). I'm not looking forward to leaving my newfound friends, but I have a feeling that this is not a forever-goodbye.

I also finally have some pictures to share - Muireann lent me a few from her camera. If you like them, you can see others like them and read about Ugandan culture (including some juicy Uganda Crafts stuff!) at www.ugandaletter.com.

peace! be seeing you soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb