Is that a child in your suitcase? or are you just pleased to see me ...


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
June 25th 2011
Published: June 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

hello,

I made it safe to Kampala on our tiny prop plane that made even me eeek a few times, Mike laughed at me and said "I thought you was a flying hero" I explained that I liked flying, I just wasnt keen on prop planes...

We arrived at Dar airport and my suitcase went through the scanner, not something that we do at Heathrow airport but through it went, the customs officer approached me rather brash "open your bag" I fiddled with the lock, "I said open it" she pushed, I thought blimey what is this all about? forgetting about Annie. She forced my bag up and open and rummaged through it and opened Annies bag and I smiled she then stopped, confused, and looked at it "What is this?" I explained that it was a resusitation doll for first aid training but this did not suffice, she did not understand, she searched all over it for holes and asked me " what is it for" I knew I had to demonstrate, yes I gave CPR to a resus doll in Dar es Salaam airport to get myself through customs. "ok go" she said and off I went.

The flight to Entebbe was stopping at Kilimanjaro which I was dead excited about we sat on the plane with me clutching my camera and waiting, the ride was pretty smooth except for the odd bump unfortunatly we are at the end of rainy season so there is alot of cloud cover so I could not get a photo or even see it. I did get a picture of a mountain but we dont think it is THE mountain.

I am at the sheraton, we set off at 6.30am this morning and arrived at 4pm so I am exhausted and havent got much of my saturday left, I am relaxing in front of the TV with a cup of tea watching american rubbish, catching up on facebook and emails and then Mike and I are popping out to a chinese restaurant for dinner.

till 2moro

Lisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb