Last days in Uganda


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
June 25th 2011
Published: June 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It is hard to believe that my time in Uganda is quickly coming to an end. I am honestly sorry to see it ending and have had a truly amazing experience. I feel very comfortable here, confident in navigating the streets in Kampala and dealing with Old Park ( the chaotic mini bus park which is hard to believe unless you see it for yourself). It is rather unfortunate that so many people believe this country to be unsafe. It is not and a very beautiful place with wonderful, friendly people. Granted, there are problems, as in any third world country, such as, the President if you can call him that. Actually, I would have to say he is a dictator and does not treat his people very well.

Working in the malnutrition ward at Mulago Hospital was an eye opener for me. I never knew the devastation it can cause on the human body and is very hard to see all the very malnurished babies in the ward. You never know from day to day which baby will make it through the day or night. On Wednesday, I was working in the rescitation room when one of the mums said to me her baby was dead. What??? Ran over to the bed and the baby was very distressed. Ran to find a dr. & the 2 of us worked on the baby for about 25 minutes, me bagging the baby with oxygen & the dr. massaging the heart. Unfortunately, it was to no avail & the baby did not make it. I helped with the cleaning up and wrapping it. Am greatly surprised how calm I was during the whole process and was not freaked out. The whole hospital experience has really surprised me as to how I have not gotten nauseated seeing the things I have. I feel very fortunate to have been able to tag along with the doctors while making patient rounds. Not sure why they let me do that but it was a terrific experience and really enjoyed being in a hospital environment. Wish I was that excited about going to Tanzania, but not all that thrilled since will be working in an orphanage for 3 months, you know how much I like children, ugh. The bright side, hopefully, the food will be better.

Speaking of food, I have lost my appetite and struggle to eat. The Uganda food has taken its toll on me. I get lunch at the hospital, but everyday it is the same thing, porshoo (cornmeal mush), motaki (banana mush), and gheenut sauce (peanut sauce). The other day I almost vomited while trying to eat lunch. I can only stomach & few forkfuls before getting nauseated. Good news, I have lost weight and have no appetite. Dinner is not much better. It usually consists of rice, pasta, irish potatoes, bitter greens & possibly beans. I will eat one carb but not that hungry. Thanks to Colleen and Sheila for the vitamins, would probably be in trouble otherwise.

Went out for dinner last night and had a nicoise salad. Not the best but was so excited to have salad even though it was iceberg lettue. Went out to hear music afterwards and the place actually had a flush toilet. Joy oh joy. It is amazing how your perspective of simple pleasures change. A flush toilet is nirvana and not sure what I would do if a had an actual hot shower with running water. But the biggest thrill would be a washing maching, oh my. Hand washing clothes is a major chore especially since everything is covered in red dirt. I think my feet will be permantely stained with red dirt. Speaking of feet, I hiked (& it is a hike) to get a cup of coffee today and the bottom of my foot at the ball started hurting. Here, the entire area has cracked open. It is about a 5 inch crack & can stick a finger into it. Put some antibacteria cream and a couple of bandaids on it but is very odd. Never had something like that happen before.

Last weekend went to Murchinson Falls to see the falls and do a safari. Nice falls, but have been spoiled by Igaussu. Did not see any lions (boo hoo) but saw giraffe, baboons, elephants, hippos, rhinos, African buffalo, Jackson hartbeest, long horn bulls, etc. Was a very fun time and met a bunch of mzungus. Mzungus means white person and where ever I go, people are yelling at mzungu, mzungu and trying touch me. It is a rather odd experience. I have also found, that my hair seems to be a topic of fasnication too. Not sure why although it is very wavy do to the humidity. Although we are in the dry season, it has been raining almost everyday around lunch time. Apparently, it was ver



Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb