Safely in Uganda!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
February 19th 2011
Published: February 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Kampala! My flight was fine, buying a visa at the airport also gets you express entry to the country, there was an ATM in the airport, and I easily get a taxi to the 'hotel'. I must admit to a bit of Hilton Withdrawal and need to switch to vacation mode. I have a very basic room with the bathroom across the courtyard. At least there are curtains on the shower stalls!

The drive from the airport was interesting. The presidential election was yesterday and results are expected tomorrow. There were lots of police, traffic police, and military police around, but absolutely no sign of any trouble. CNN reported some last night, but the driver dismissed it and said it was nothing. I have also seen a few UN cars and Internaltional Observer cars around (the Brits are here to monitor the vote count).

It's much warmer here than in Nairobi. It's also greener and the countryside looks a lot like Rwanda. People are friendly and there's a very mixed crowd at the guesthouse. I'm settled in and now need to grab some lunch.

I'm confirmed for my chimp trip and the driver comes at 7:00am so it will be another early morning, but a very FUN day!

The GAP Trip leave the guesthouse at 8:00am on Monday. I'll try and check in tomorrow evening, but no guarentees.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb