Week of Mourning


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
July 16th 2010
Published: July 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It was Sunday night since the bombings had occurred. There is still lots of traffic downtown and it looks as though people have continued on with their lives. Although now new security measures have definitely been taken into action. At one of the grocery stores that I go to they now search every car entering the parking lot and everyone who enters the store gets screened. Most buildings have at least a security guard standing outside now. It's a bit of a pain sometimes because you have to wait a bit longer. It also changed the mentality of the area. One of the bombs on Sunday was in a popular Ethiopian restaurant. We went out for dinner on Monday night to an Italian restaurant near our hostel. I have to admit that I felt pretty uncomfortable eating in there and I think some of the interns felt the same way. People aren't going out as much as they used to and there are always concerns of another bombing happening. The good news is that everyone seems to have a network of people that they call incase they hear of anything. The trouble with that is you tend to get false information. Since Sunday I've probably heard each day that another bomb had gone off in some area but it ends up not being true. We do hear of bombs getting diffused though. That draws a little bit of concern for me. I figured they would start to find a couple after though. The biggest concern is that the Ugandan government has declared war against Al-Shabaab (the terrorist organization who claimed responsibility for the bombings). I'm registered and keep up to date with the US government websites. They do say that there is possibility of another attack so remain vigilant. I've been talking to the other interns and none of us want to leave at this point (one American girl's parent's is making her though). If things do get worse then we will consider going to Kenya but for now I think we will continue our internships. My week continued much the same. I have my sessions every day. My leg has healed a bit. There is still a bit of discomfort but I'm able to get around a little bit easier which is nice.

Time for a bit of good news now. A group of us have planned a trip to Kenya for the weekend. I'll be leaving tonight and I'll get back Tuesday morning. Our plan is to take a night but to Nairobi. We arrive there tomorrow morning then we'll get on a van to go to the Masai Mara. It's one of the largest national parks in Kenya and we'll spend Saturday and Sunday there. Sunday evening we'll get back to Nairobi and then Monday evening we'll take the night bus back to Uganda. That means I'll have lots to post next week and hopefully lots of pictures too!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb