Action in Kampala


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
September 11th 2009
Published: September 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm sure this isn't even making a blip in the news in the U.S., but there have been some isolated riots here in Kampala in the last couple of days. The Kabaka (king) of Buganda was planning a visit to an area of his kingdom known as Kayunga. There is a minority group there called the Banyala who want to secede from the kingdom or, actually, claim they were never a part of it.

The government has gotten involved, siding against the Kabaka, which has ticked off the Baganda. Some also claim that the president has been channeling money to the Banyala to weaken the power of the Kabaka. Idi Amin basically shut down the kings (there are currently 4 - 5 kingdoms within Uganda), but President Museveni re-instated them shortly after taking control of Uganda in the mid-80s. They now frequently struggle over land rights and authority issues (Kampala is within the traditional land base of the Buganda kingdom). It seems that, at times, he has second thoughts about his decision to reinstate the kings.

Anyway, downtown is a mess. The police are using live ammo and tear gas, and there have been 8 deaths that I am aware of. We are nowhere near it, so the only part that is affecting us right now is the acrid smoke of burning tires. Many roads are closed - it took Devin over 2 hours to get home from work last night, which usually takes her about 30 minutes. Her office decided to close today, as have MANY other offices. We have no plans to go shopping downtown in the next few days.

If you want some background on the issues, there is an article from about a week ago at : http://www.monitor.co.ug/artman/publish/regional-special/Banyala_plan_to_demonstrate_against_Kabaka_s_visit_90642.shtml

You can do a websearch for "kampala, riots" to get more recent updates.

We are fine, and plan to stay that way. Hopefully this will settle out soon.

Advertisement



11th September 2009

be safe
We know you'll play it safe and keep your heads down. And chain that fearsome wolf of yours out front! Miss you!
11th September 2009

Thanks
Thanks for the update. Glad you are keeping low. So far it is still quiet in Gold Hill, but I'll keep you updated.
12th September 2009

Thinking of you all. Thanks for the update. Sending love and be safe!
12th September 2009

Miss You
Hi Mark, Devin and Simmy, Thank you for the blog! This was my first time reading your blog! Where have I been? I read with great interest in your comings and goings, and look forward to reading more. I wanted to see pictures of you all and am not sure how to do that just yet. I had one of the greatest summer's and Cortes was up at the top of the list. I know it's redundant to tell you how much I love Charles, Torkin, and Chuck Roppel, but I just want the whole universe to know. I am going to teach one more year, sounds crazy in a way, and I feel the need to for several reasons. I was going to travel to Colorado next week (I'll be 66 on Thursday) whew.....I said it!......but have decided to take care of a very "hurtin" right hip as soon as possible so that I'll be able to travel and walk without so much pain. Life! I'm happy, grateful, and full of love for you. Jackie
14th September 2009

checking in
Sending thoughts of safety your way . . .I am back on Whidbey and living with Eric. . . .can we Skype?

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb