Marie Shops for Fabric


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
February 10th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bag Lady of KampalaBag Lady of KampalaBag Lady of Kampala

After a full day of hunting around Marie was able to get two full bags of fabric cutoffs. NOTE the parking job of the car behine her.

Cloth shopping in KAMPALA, UGANDA


Although you can readily see people wearing non-Western type fabrics, they are quite difficult to find to buy. The women typically buy 6 yard pieces that are cut into a big, muu muu type dress with fancy intricate sleeves or they have a blouse made and wrap the rest around, not quite a sari, nor a sarong, but uniquely Ugandan. Sometimes, some of the cloth is used to tie a baby in a sling on her back.

I have been determined to find the cloth used for men’s shirts. Obviously, they don’t have to buy the whole six yards, as the saying goes. So, I got the idea of asking for cutouts from the tailors, the pieces that are left over from cutting. I have had remarkable luck, although I have no idea of what I can eventually make with these pieces.
Everyone seems to save the pieces, but no one has any idea of what they will use them for. One tailor, Petra, says that she saves the pieces for a woman who makes a mattress out of them for her kids. Whatever, we end up with a 20+ bag of cloth, and then we wade through the pieces looking for COTTON. The prices that I pay range from FREE (Veronica who wants quilt magazines) to 5000 to 6000 shillings (about $2.50)

Since they will fussy-cut to place a certain motif center front or on the sleeves, sometimes I end up with nearly a fat quarter, so those pieces alone make the effort worthwhile. I now have about 20 pounds of fabric, which I am going to go through, iron, and discard and pack. We did bring along the carrying bag purchased in China, so when our packs are filled up, we can bundle that up. We are going to try to attach the picture of my carrying these bags around. Bill says, if you take them, you carry them.

What I want to plan is a weekend of quilting with my friends. IF you are interested, let me know. I envision us with our machines, making designs using the bright, wild pieces to inspire us. I have enough material to make a number of quilts, so hang on, we are going to fly with creativity.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb