Africa


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
June 25th 2008
Published: June 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Africa

Thank you all for your posts and emails. It is goods to hear from home. I am really starting to adjust well. I can’t believe just5 a few days ago I seriously doubted that I would be able to make thirty days here without family, now I am already trying to figure out how to get everthing done before I leave.

Molly and I will be going to a womens retreat in Jinija in July. there will be women from all over Africa. I am looking forward to that.

Some of you have asked about the netting over my bed. The netting over the bed is to prevent mosquitoes from biting me ang giving me malaria.
I am taking malaria pills but the netting is prevention. It also helps keep cockroaches from climbing on the bed while a sleep. The roaches here are huge. I saw one on the wall and I screamed then I took my shoe to smack it, it fell,so I screamed again Betty came running to check on me. She told me no worries. Yeah, I haven't quite gotten there on that. Betty is Molly & Paul's daughter. She will be getting married in August. So exciting. She is a professional seamstress. So she will make her own gown.

Molly &Paul's home is huge, even by American standards. God has made provision for them to have this home.plus they want to be able to bless volunteers with a space to stay in. Between their biological children and their adopted children and then Paul's twin brothers children,he was killed during the war, and some grandchildren, whose family has passed away,they are all living in the house. The number fluctuaes but I think the family size is 8-10 people living in the home. Some of the children are at university,and then I just meet one who was traveling to Kenya, and is back safe praise God. Then the adopted son John ssemboya, the monkey boy read his story on Mollyandpaul.org , has his own land in the country so he goes and comes.

Today I was humbled to be here, they chose to have me come here, and yet they would have been better suited with a man who has skills. They need help with plumbing and electricity and construction. Amazing how they get by. There is no refigridation,so what you cook to
Me finally helpingMe finally helpingMe finally helping

I am cutting pumpkin for supper. It was so good tasting.
day gets eaten today. Then at the end the dogs get the rest. Today I got to help cut pumpikin for supper. It was very good. The housemaid was pounding nuts to make a peanut sauce for fish stew. the sauce is very good. the fish in it is smoked catfish.

I was concerned about the lack of food, nothing to worry about. I get served so much food. I am full, yet there is lots more that needs to be eaten. I was served tea, at noontime with food, so I thought that was lunch then two hrs later they wanted to feed me lunch. Paul is concerned that I am not eating enough to sustain, I tell him I am fine. He doesn't believe me. Was going to email Garry and tell him on me. I tried to explain that I came prepared to eat only one meal a day, so eating 3 is completely satisfying. It is always a feast. Casava , rice, poshu, then a stew of some kind, and then maybe a vegetable. Every meal except school lunch is much simpler but the portions are huge. I had to tell them not so much. When the children gave me lunch at school I thought 5 people were going to share it with me. They laughed at me. Silly muzungo. I have tried to figure out if this is how the always eat or are they treaing me. He said the only thing they don't eat often is the rice because of the exspence.

I did catch a glimpse of my reflection in the car window. Boy am white. Its amazing. Anyway that is all for today. God bless - kim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb