The First Two Weeks!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
January 5th 2007
Published: January 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Hurley HomeThe Hurley HomeThe Hurley Home

This is "home" while I'm here in Uganda. It's a beautiful home and I am well taken care of here!
The first two weeks have been pretty calm and sheltered...life on the compound is very American - even the food is American! I've really just spent time with the Hurleys' at their home, getting acquainted with domestic missionary life. My days are all pretty routine: wake-up, breakfast, dishes, shower, quiet time, lunch, dishes, play with kids, dinner, dishes, and depending on the day there is either game night or fellowship time after dinner or maybe a movie night if the kids have been particularly well behaved. I am learning a lot about what a "God-centered" home / family looks like; while I grew up in a Christian home, I would not have called it "God-centered," so this is giving me a new look at family life.

I'm doing well...I'm trying to learn Lugandan, which is the native language spoken by most people in this area, though English is spoken by almost everyone. It's an interesting langugage, and while I can see some patterns in things like numbers, there is not a lot of consistency with regard to letter sounds...so just when I think I've learned some rule to their language, the rule changes! (And people say English is hard to
Going to the MarketGoing to the MarketGoing to the Market

Inside the market looks similar to our grocery stores, except there is no freezer section and there are just a few items on the shelves.
learn!!)

School is out until February, which is unfortunate in that I was hoping to meet with some Head Masters of some local high schools in an effort to research what it takes to open a secondary school in Uganda, as well as learn as much as possible about the Ugandan school system. Hopefully Shannon will be able to set me up with some people who can answer my questions, even though school is not in session.

The orphans are allowed to go to their home villages during the Chirstmas and New Year's holidays, so there are only approximately 15 kids still around the orphanage...these are kids who no longer have any living relatives in their home villages. Normally there are approximately 50 orphans running around, but having a small number makes it easier for me to remember their names!

This weekend I will have my first experience outside the Hurley home - I will be spending the weekend in Seeta with one of the local town pastors and his family. I am looking forward to it, but am a bit nervous. I know that the time will be good for me...I know that it will be
Sunday SchoolSunday SchoolSunday School

These were the children who attended Sunday School on New Year's Eve...they were singing as I took their picture.
a growth experience, especially since I've been living the "high life" for the past two weeks! I'll post a blog when I return with details about my experiences...I'm sure I'll have a lot to share!

Anyway, here are more pictures that I've taken in the first two weeks...ENJOY!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

"Hey Muzungu!""Hey Muzungu!"
"Hey Muzungu!"

Muzungu means "white person," so I am greeted this way everywhere I go...especially by the children. It's like I'm a celebrity or something; once one group of kids says hi to me the rest have to come and see the muzungu, so there is a never-ending chorus of "hey muzungu" following me as I walk through a small village on my way back to the Hurley's after church on New Year's Eve.
More Local KidsMore Local Kids
More Local Kids

One the way home after church, these kids asked me to "take their snap." Most children have never seen themselves on film, so I was more than happy to take their picture and show it to them before I moved on. What would we do w/out digital cameras????!!!!
KatherineKatherine
Katherine

This is Katherine, one of the orphans who lives next to the Hurleys. She volunteered to walk home with me after church and so I bought here a soda.
Jack-fruitJack-fruit
Jack-fruit

Inside are about 100 pods that contain seeds. These pods are the fruit that you eat...it's VERY sweet and reminds me of the aftertaste pineapple leaves in your mouth.
A Ugandan CalfA Ugandan Calf
A Ugandan Calf

Cows (and goats) are everywhere! This calf was tethered in the yard below the Hurley home...it belongs to the orphanage.
Local Watering HoleLocal Watering Hole
Local Watering Hole

This is were people come to get water...it's well water that people lug back to their home daily, since most people do not have running water into their homes.
Games with the OrphansGames with the Orphans
Games with the Orphans

Shannon was playing "Keep Away" with his kids and some of the orphans.
Drum LessonDrum Lesson
Drum Lesson

Joe (from Chicago) wanted to learn to play the drums, so Daniel, Winney and Ruth thought they'd try to give him a quick lesson.
Afraid of Heights?Afraid of Heights?
Afraid of Heights?

Winney gives me a tour of her room at the orphanage...triple-decker bunkbeds! I would have cried if I had to sleep on the top bunk - I'm afraid of heights! LOL
PatrickPatrick
Patrick

Patrick comes to the Hurley's regularly to do the yard work and other odd jobs so he can earn money to pay for school.
My RoommateMy Roommate
My Roommate

This is Faith, my roommate while in Uganda. She lives with the Hurley family and is the nurse for the orphanage...I love this girl - she is so sweet and wonderful!
Street TrafficStreet Traffic
Street Traffic

Welcome to driving in Kampala. I'd say it's similar to driving in the US, except there are NO traffic lights and NO real rules to the road...so people pretty much drive where they want, when they want.


8th January 2007

Hi there
I miss you! It sounds like you are having such a wonderful time! I love the pictures of the kids. They seem to radiate love and warmth! Be safe. Love, Dee-Dee P.S. - Fishies are doing fine. Bert got his fin stuck the first day so I went out and bought them the filter-thingy-cover. They are staying healthy!
8th January 2007

A Costa Rican Cow!
Do you remember that (joke)? Heh. Keep safe and healthy, my friend.
9th January 2007

WOW~!
It is all so interesting. You seem to be having a good time. I am glad you are safe, too~! I really enjoy all the pictures. :-)
9th January 2007

thank you for writing about everything!
I'm looking forward to your next installment. You are being prayed for. love you, Shirley
13th January 2007

RE: The Costa Rican Cow!
LOL...of course I remember it! That's what prompted the bizillion pictures if have of Ugandan cows! LOL :) Missing you!!!
13th January 2007

Thanks so much!
Hey! Thanks again for loving my fish! I'm having fun and will be sad to leave in a week! :( See you soon!
15th January 2007

Elisa says "hi!"
The girls and I were looking at all your pictures, up to Jan. 5th. Elisa was really excited to know that you were living with a family that has someone with the same name! She has a message for Elisa Hurley... "My name is Elisa, too. I live in Monrovia, California. Today it is sunny but really cold. I am 5 years old and I am in Kindergarten. Bye!" We are praying for you, Deniece!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb