Kampala


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
November 15th 2017
Published: January 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

KampalaKampalaKampala

Seen at a Ba'hia church, a good reminder
Went on a city tour via boda boda (motorcycles). Boda boda is Ugandan slang for border-border. As explained to me, a lot of smuggling takes place at the borders via motorcycle. Border-to-border somehow was bastardized to boda boda. Most taxis in Uganda are actually motorcycles, so the term now also refers to moving people, like merchandise, from place to place via motorcycle, hence the phrase. There isn't a lot to see in Kampala, with the highlights being Idi Amin's torture chambers, the mosque financed by former Libyan dictator Muammar Gaddafi -- dictator is a theme associated with many of the sites visited. I was rather impressed with the tour agency, as it provided us with helmets, each of us had our own driver, a guide -- in addition to the drivers -- was included, and they were very safe with their driving. Actually, many of the boda boda drivers provide their riders with helmets here in Kampala. I would not have gotten on a motorcycle without one.



After the tour was over, the couple wanted to be taken to the marketplace to buy souvenirs. All I wanted to buy was a torch (British English for flashlight), as mine
KampalaKampalaKampala

The tag line for the travel agency that took me on the city tour
had stopped working. If ever traveling to Latin America, Africa, or Asia, where power cuts are more the norm, always take a good flashlight and fresh batteries, as you will definitely be using it on more than one occasion.



The heat from today dried my clothes and my boots were just about dry. When I saw it was about to rain, I rushed to the courtyard to take down my clothes, but the workers had beaten me to it. And then the rain continued.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

KampalaKampala
Kampala

At the Gaddafi mosque. There were three of us on the tour. She wore pants and a long sleeved blouse to be respectful for this part of the tour, but it wasn't enough. Not only did she have to cover her hair, but she had to cover the pants before being allowed into the mosque. Her husband and I were in shorts and tee shirts, but didn't have to alter our clothing.
KampalaKampala
Kampala

The decorations are actually carved into the walls, then painted.
KampalaKampala
Kampala

The chandeliers were beautiful
KampalaKampala
Kampala

The rug in the mosque was very pretty
KampalaKampala
Kampala

The guide told us the mosque is one of the largest in all of Africa.
KampalaKampala
Kampala

From the top of the tower at the mosque looking down. I still get nervous when I look at the picture. I have a fear of heights. I like the reddish orange glow that the tower elicited.
KampalaKampala
Kampala

The mosque financed by Gaddafi. The majority of Ugandans are actually Christian.
KampalaKampala
Kampala

Uganda consists of several kingdoms. This is the palace owned by the king whose kingdom encompasses Kampala and its surroundings.
KampalaKampala
Kampala

Idi Amin's torture chamber. It actually started out as a place for storage. But, being located underground and a bit isolated, it was a perfect place to torture people, whose cries wouldn't be heard on the outside. I can't remember the number of people brought her to be killed, but it was very high.
KampalaKampala
Kampala

Downtown. I've seen this same scene all over Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Cars and people everywhere. The left side of the photo is one of the city's bus stations. I've been to many of these, looking for the bus I needed to travel to another part of the country. As chaotic as they are, the people are always very helpful to lead you to the right bus, and ensure your safety as you walk thru the throngs of people. Uganda is one of the few countries I've visited where I didn't use public transportation to travel around the country, mostly because the network isn't very good in the region of the national parks, and due to the rainy season -- I needed that 4WD to get around.
KampalaKampala
Kampala

Try finding your bus at this bus station.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb