Rhino trekking


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
November 13th 2017
Published: January 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Yet another early start, and a long drive to my next destination. As I was having breakfast, it was fun to watch all the people who had arrived the night before and were excited to be leaving for their safari trip very shortly. On my way back to Kampala, the capital, we stopped off at the Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary to go rhino trekking. The guide and his assistant did not carry guns, but they allowed my driver to join us. The place is heavily guarded to prevent poaching. The trek resulted in seeing several mothers, all with babies of varying sizes. It's always a relief to see the horns still on the rhinos. Our timing at the sanctuary couldn't have been more perfect. No one was there when we arrived, but we saw quite a few cars driving in just as we were leaving.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My shoesMy shoes
My shoes

My hiking boots are brown, but not this brown. It's still caked in mud. My boots are finally starting to dry from the gorilla trek. And they smelled so bad from the mildew.


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb