Amazing Country


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia
July 20th 2005
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After my college year I felt like doing something different. And so i did. 2 weeks Monastir was just the thing I felt like doing. Normaly Tunesia is not a country people going to from The Netherlands. I stayed in Club Skanes Garden just 10 minutes by bus from Monastir - Habib Bourguiba International Airport. Skanes stands confessed its endless white beaches, clear blue sky and sea. This quiet, but coloured holiday harbour lies between Sousse and Monastir a the east coust of Tunisia.


The meaning of this trip is enjoying the country travel around and enjoy the sun.


So the first couple of day's I didn't do anything. Enjoying the sun at the beach or around the swimmingpool. Because of the All Inclusive formula at this resort I dronk and ate a lot. The first day I wasn't getting used to the Africa style. A very good resort in Tunisia is a poor resort in Holland.


After a couple of days at the resort and burned like hell in the sun I went to Sousse. Sousse is 23km (15mile) north of Skanes. Sousse is one of the most important city for Tunisia because of the huge amount of tourists. And the locals know that. While walking through the streets of Sousse you can feel people looking at you, not really a save feeling, but you also know they're not doing anything. They only want you to buy something. And they're doing almost everything for you to buy something. It was also the first time I faced the women in sea with Bourka and other clothes on. Then you realise you're in a Arabic country. The taxidrivers by the way are really lost there mind while driving. Not knowing anything about staying between the 2 white stripes. After I've done some shopping and photographing the place I went back to Skanes for the diner.


Some days later I wanted to smell some culture. Some guys from the entertainmentteam told me to visit the mausoleum of Habib Bourguiba in Monastir. So I did. And what I saw was just amazing. Don't think I ever forget it. So much gold and marmer. I also spent a visit at the ribat van Monastir. Build in 796 according to the sign next to the entrance.


After using the jetski and other watersports it was time for me to go home. One tip: Don't go with western girls only. I met some girls in Tunisia who where afraid of going back to the city because of all the boys around there. Who touched them talked to them and following them again and again. I can imagine it's not nice, but hey...you are the stranger in that country and in this kind of country's you know something like this can happen. So think twice before going to Tuninia. I think that this is a 'do' weather is always nice, except when you'ce got a strong Sahara wind. The change you get a huge thunderstorm above sea is almost 100%. The crew told me that it's going to thunder above the sea toningt. So I asked them how they know. And told me about the Sahara wind. And it was very very beautiful.


The next time I'm comming back, and it sure is comming, I'm going to the desert. I'm very curious about the way people live there, what there doing, and how they fight the wind and the tempeture.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My place.My place.
My place.

The little houses at the resort.
BeachBeach
Beach

It's normal seeing camels walking over the beach. I think it's sad.


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb