Post Assignment


Advertisement
Togo's flag
Africa » Togo
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

The last 2 weeks have flown by so fast that I am having trouble remembering exactly what happened. Basically, I have been busy improving my French, learning the Eve language, and learning about small businesses and nonprofits in Togo. My days are pretty routine which helps them fly by: breakfast around 7:30, then clas from 8 to 12, then a break for lunch when I go home and hang out with the family, then class from 2:30 to about 5, then I usually play soccer or go the cafe before haeding home for dinner, a shower, and sleep. The weekends we have more free time so I try to go for a bike ride or spend more time with my family. But some interesting events occurred nontheless:

I had an outfit and an extra shirt made out of some pagnes, or cloths, that I bought. All in all the outfit cost about 4 dollars, took 2 days to make, and I was so impressed that I reommended my tailor to all the other Americans. I'm going to have another outfit made out of red white and blue fabric for the 4th.

I attended a voodoo ceremony the other night. I could here the drumming from my family compound, and when I asked a family mmber what it was, she said that some people go to church, and other people drum and dance. So I had two girls take me to watch, and it wasn't as bizarre as I expected: just drumming, dancing, and singing people of all ages. However, my sisters were very afriad and they warned me not to take a drink that was offered to me, probably just liquor. One told me that inside the room with the fetish hanging above the door a man slaughters a sheep, drinks the blood, and then bathes others in it. I saw him bathing people but it looked like water to me. Still, a ver inteesting experience and I was welcomed openly.

Soccer, or football, is a huge part of life here. We always get out of class for important World Cup games, like Ghana vs Brazil, and I play soccer a lot with neighborhood kids eithre in a dusty sandlot near the school or in a huge muddy field in the small village nearby our town. It's a great way to make friends, and I've never been in better shape!

Yesterday I received my post assignment! After training ends in late August, I will be posted in Elevagnon; about half way up the country on the Benin border. I will be the first SBD volunteer in the town, and I wil not have electrity or running water. No running water I am used to but I might need to buy a car battery to get some power. I will be working with PLAN, a Togolese NGO that does a little of everything, but especially works with market women on creating business plans. I will also have the opportunity to educate children about the perils of child trafficking, which is a huge issue in Togo and especially in this region. I was told that Lome is only a 4 hour bushtaxi ride away, so I am really excited. In a few weeks I get to visit the post and then I'll know much more, althought since I'm the first volunteer there I have a lot of work cut out for me to get situated.

That's about all the news for now. No weird foods, everything tastes wonderful. And I feel healthy and happy here, although of course there are lots of ups and downs. As they say in Eve, Miagadogo!!!!

Steve

Advertisement



5th July 2006

Hellow fellow PCT
So I am taking advantage of a hella good internet connection at a bar for free, so I thought I would say hello. I am into my second week of training and loving it. My group rocks and Belize is amazing. Good luck with all I will keep up with your blog when I can. Peace
20th July 2006

Hey from Alaska!
Hey Steve good to here everything is good with you. This is the first time I ever read a blog... it is kind of cool. How will you keep us posted without electricity????? Will a car battery work? Be safe and take lots of pictures! God Bless you! Sonora
21st July 2006

Great News!!!
It sounds like you guys are having a WONDERFUL experience!!Glad to find your "blog"!! (Ian Maddoxs folks)
23rd July 2006

Steve!!
Hey Steve! Im so glad you're enjoting your work in Togo. I'm in Nigeria right now, after months of working 9-5 in the States and Im dying to stay, and try to do something. Im in Abuja right now; I'll be in Lagos in a few days, and then off to Accra, Ghana. I wish I could go see South Africa as well...supposedly there's alot of opportunity, esp. for my field (entertainment/communications) Anyway, enough about me, this is supposed to be a "comment". So, good job, good, luck, and God Bless! Ita italome.o@gmail.com

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb