Africa Mercy Volunteer


Advertisement
Togo's flag
Africa » Togo » Lome
May 3rd 2012
Published: May 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

It seems I lost my entry about the week end. Well, there will be others.



I worked in the dining room on Monday and Tuesday. Tuesday is Africa night. Plantains, beans, rice, mango were some of the foods. There is salad every lunch and dinner. There are always celebrations on board. Last week it was the queen’s birthday in Holland, I think. There was also Togo Independence Day. There were also several hours of meetings for new crew and signatures to get. I have finally finished that part.



Wednesday, I signed up for French lessons. It is the Rosetta Stone Program. I don’t know how far I will get. Right now there are not many people signed up so I can go on a computer and used it any time.



I got a few items from a free box. When people leave there are often cabin sales, too. (It’s like a lawn or garage sale). I got a couple books, bug spray (You can never have enough.), stationary, magnets, and a T-shirt.



Today we had a fire drill. There are many safety precautions for us to follow both on and off ship.



This morning, I went to a special needs school in Lome with the Mercy Ministries team. There were about thirty kids of all ages. Some wore uniforms, others regular dress. The room had a metal roof and yellow plaster walls over cement. The floor was cement. There were two closets, a large blackboard and bright blue tables/desks. There was a court yard play area. We had materials for coloring and making pinwheels. There was singing by the children and dancing/games with everyone participating. We donated pick flip flops and cookies. It was a fun time.



I am well, and busy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb