WEEKEND!!!!


Advertisement
Togo's flag
Africa » Togo » Lome
March 15th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it hasn't been very long since my last update, but lots has happened, and I have nothing better to do on a Sunday afternoon, so here I am.


THE WEEKEND

Friday night I helped clean up the centre, and then played games with Elolo (FINALLY FOUND OUT HOW TO SPELL HIS NAME!!!) in the evening. Taught him how to play Boxes - Emma and Sarah will know the game I mean, when you start with lots of dots on the page. And he taught me 2 Togolese games similar to drafts. Then yesterday we headed to the beach!!

FANTASTIC day yesterday - headed of in a Togolese taxi yesterday, and suddenly memories of Morocco flooded back to me, because they try to fit in as many people as possible - 2 people on the front seat next to the driver, and 4 in the back. Pretty crazy when the 4 in the back are full-grown adults......Well, perhaps not in my case. But the rest BIG Togolese men. Very funny. 600FRANCS to travel about 8 miles. That is about 90p.

We didn't go to the main beach in Lomé as Elolo said it was too dirty, and had pickpocketers. Instead we went about 5 miles down the coast towards Togoville, and went on an amazingly secluded beach instead. So so so beautiful, and not many people there at all. It was actually weird seeing other Yovos around. I think I am getting a complex, that I kind of forget that I'm white, as I literally don't see ANY other white people for days on end. It's quite a shock when I look in the mirror sometimes.

ANYWAY - we sat on the beach and drank Sprite and I asked Elolo which direction certain countries were. We worked out that if we headed in certain directions we would get to the Congo, South Africa, South America, Nigeria, Benin. Pretty awesome!! Makes a change from being in Victoria and trying to work out which direction Leicester Square is.

On the way back to the Centre we stopped off at the huge market in Lomé to see if I wanted to buy anything. In the end I only got a Togolese SIM card and a couple of necklaces. But did have a mini mini incident with a pickpocketer.....well, it wasn't even really an incident. We were walking through the market, and Elolo was being very good about looking after me, then suddenly 2 guys 'bumped into me' but I immediately knew what they were up to so I turned round to face them, then Elolo YELLED at them saying that I was his wife. It was very funny!!! They both looked VERY scared, and nothing at all was taken.

Sunday's are rather odd in Togo. Everyone goes to church, but at different times during the day. Rachel and Merveille went off this afternoon, but Antoinne did not go at all. The other day when Bruno asked me if I was Christian, I told him I was not. His eyes widened and then said 'You are muslim????' I had to try to explain that I was not anything, which is very difficult in French.......I might be going to church with Rachel and Merveille next Sunday, but only if I can buy something suitable to wear, because they all dress up very smartly, and I have nothing.

This morning I helped Antoinne make containers to carry bees in. He has made some bee hives for the family and needs to go to the bee farm to buy the bees. They are a crazy contraption made out of old oil barrels with wires stuck through them. Don't ask me how, but apparently you fill the barrels with water up to where the wires are sticking through; then the bees sit on the wire and you can carry the barrell home without them getting angry......I have yet to see it, but I will keep you posted.

I'm sorry I haven't been able to get any photos up online, I only have a USB cable thing and les ordinateurs in the internet café don't have USB ports. You'll all just have to wait until I get back - OOOOH the excitement.

Missing you all lots, and thank you to everyone who has sent me LOVELY messages - AGB, Ellie, sisters, M, Larry's friend and Toby. Sorry if I have missed anyone!! Keep them coming, I love hearing what you are all up to. I'm nearly half way through my time here, so not much longer to go. Will be back the ay after my BIRTHDAAAAYYYYYY!!!!!! YAY!!!

Lots of travelling love
xxxxxx

Advertisement



16th March 2009

:)
Sounds like you're having an incredible time! Great to hear you're doing well. Henry and I went to the premiere of a new eco documentary on Sunday - 'Age of Stupid'. Really powerful, and has got us both energised about climate change. You'd love it! See you soon x x x
17th March 2009

Glad you and Henry are becoming more eco :) you can join me on the hippy front! Will have to see it when I get back. xxx
17th March 2009

Catching up
Reading your two latest entries.... sounds like you had a great weekend! Glad everything is going well. xx

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb