My First Travel Blog Entry


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
January 30th 2011
Published: January 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I think I attempted a blog a long time ago and I have no idea what the site was. I'm going to try and stick with this site.

I'll be blogging about the before, during and after aspects of trekking Kilimanjaro via the Machame route.

When I was younger I created a "to do list" and Everest was on that list. Since climbing Everest is pretty scary with the spikey shoes (as I called them before I knew they were called crampons) and walking on ladders over crevaces, I thought I should aim for a smaller mountain and see if I even like it. Enter Kilimanjaro.

I've been researching Kili since February 2010. Normally, the amount of research that goes into where I travel consists of a Lonley Planet guidebook and locating the archaeological sites in the vicinity that I can check out. This time I asked a lot of questions to several tour outfitters. I finally settled on Safari365, recommened by a fellow employee at work. I put the invitation out to the company and when it was all said and done there were few serious responses. We are down to 5 serious about the climb. We have paid deposits and most have paid in full, thanks to the strong Canadian dollar 😊

We still need 5 more travel companions to join our group to keep our cost at $1900US. Let the search begin!

That's all for tonight.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. ~Mark Twain



Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb