Low's- Week 4/8


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
February 9th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

1. My cell phone was stolen this week at the gym tonight. I left it for only a few seconds it seemed, but a few seconds was all it took. Kinda caught me slippling because I am ususally more cautious. It's something, the nurses and doctors at the ER were just warning me to be MORE careful that very day!
2. Same day- different time, someone stole my new shower slippers.(they cost 700 TSH ~65 cents) Why? who knows the front desk tells me that people have even steal lotion that 300 TSh. Bad day for me!
3. This Rasta-like street vendor is damn near stalking me. He waits outside of this internet cafe and other places around the town center waiting for me to come out. Then apologizes when I seem rushed. I'm not trying to have any "meetings" as he calls it. I've even seen him doing the same to a European toruist earlier this week. He better leave me alone. Must not know I'm from "The boot!"
4. My time is Dar es Salaam is running out. Since I've decided to travel to Arusha, Kili, Henya and Uganda, I only have 1 week remaining in town. ;-( Boo-hoo. I have so much still to do and I'll have a hard time leaving my new friends.
5. Only other low this week has been "The Power" . Since there has been no rain, power has been off several nights this week, due to rationing. Please, please pray for rain here!

Advertisement



13th February 2006

Great writing
Hi Tara, I'm at work and was catching up on the lates in you blog. I think your writing is wonderful it's really not bad at all. I can't see it as your weak point. Too bad about your cell phone and shower slippers being stolen. It could have been worst. Also, be carefull with that street vendor. Try to go to the internet cafe with a friend, male if possible. I'll chat with your later and I'll be praying for you and rain!
16th February 2006

whats up
tell that african boy i know he dont want me to come over there and rough him up, he must not know how we get down in the city, tell him i said we didnt get softer after katrina we got stronger...lol..YA BIG COUSIN

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb