And so the battle continues...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
July 13th 2006
Published: July 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cork-Screw Palm TreeCork-Screw Palm TreeCork-Screw Palm Tree

Some poor sap has to climb these things to get the coconuts down...in some places they use monkeys apparently...
The Malarial Experience:

Due to my unfortunate run in with malaria my time back in Stone Town was rather uneventful. While I did make it out every odd day, for the most part I was just lying in bed (thanks to Louisa and Laura for stopping by and bringing some cake) while the home-land defence force, supported by anti-malarials, waged war against the invading malaria forces. The bulk of their forces seem to have been neutralized, but random strikes continue to keep my troops on their toes making for some trying and close calls.

For those of you who don't know malaria affects people in different ways: it could be fever, extreme pain, hallucinations, diarrhea or just a simple cold...if left untreated you can fall into a coma, and/or even die. For me, malaria meant fevers, feeling extremely weak, and worst of all, the 'traveller's bug' x 10. Basically my body was like a grinder/funnel of food shooting it out almost as fast as it came in. I almost came to the point where I hated eating. Sounds crazy, but almost. Ideas of day trips created horrible images in my mind and the song 'diarrhea cha, cha, cha,' constantly
JordJordJord

It's good to have Jord back again...Jas and I will have to beat him down since he has been living the high life for so long....
filled my head. Things have been getting better, and now that I am finished my meds, the symptoms seem to come and go. I am not sure if that is better or worse because now I just have no idea when things will go array. Unfortunately, I have also learned, from Laura and Louisa, that these 'symptoms' will hang around for a little while after I have finished the meds. They also informed me that I have to get checked again to make sure the malaria has been treated and is just not hiding somewhere in the depths of my bowels waiting for an opportune moment to strike again.

Not much else to say....We had a pretty good night a Mercury's before heading to some club just outside of town where Jas and Jord ended up teaching the locals a few new dance moves. Tonight we go back to the mainland and begin to make our way north stopping in Lushoto for some hiking and then Arusha for probably my final game drive in the Ngorogoro crater. After that I will say goodbye to Jord, Jas and Penner and head North-West for Uganda. Now if only we can get
The Durian TreeThe Durian TreeThe Durian Tree

This one goes out to the boys in Produce at EF. I found the source of the durian with its' horrible smell but apparent good taste....we did not get to try any.
those inconsiderate bastards in the middle-east to come to a cease-fire for us, all would be just dandy...




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Pomello or Pink Grapefruit?Pomello or Pink Grapefruit?
Pomello or Pink Grapefruit?

The guide says it is pink grapefruit, I say it is pomello....
Stone TownStone Town
Stone Town

I was brave enough to make it to our roof to snap a shot of Stone Town...
Storage...Storage...
Storage...

Slaves were stored here before being shipped off...like Jas said, not a pretty place to be held, although I am sure the ships were not that much better.
The High Life...The High Life...
The High Life...

Lounging around the pool as waiters and waitresses try and figure out what the Afrikaaners are yelling at them about..
As the sunsets over the Indian...As the sunsets over the Indian...
As the sunsets over the Indian...

Just a couple of beers at ol' time Mercury's restaurant and bar...
As the sunsets over the Indian...As the sunsets over the Indian...
As the sunsets over the Indian...

Pictures dedicated to the amazing man himself...


17th July 2006

Recovery
Dear Ryan: I wish you a speedy recovery from your malaria! Take good care! Laurence

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb