Overwhelming, to say the least


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
January 30th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Contrary to what many of you may believe, I'm alive. It's been some of the most exhilerating, tiring, stressful, terrible, and wonderful three days of my life.

Yesterday we had a "drop off" where we were dropped off in the middle of Stone Town, Zanzibar and given a list of things we needed to locate. So after only one Swahili class, we were forced into the most culturally uncomfortable situation that we've ever entered. Yet I can't even begin to tell you how incredible it was. After only minutes, you begin to understand something that was previous entirely foreign. From talking with peddlers pestering you with products, to stangers on the street giving you directions, to the stares of the impoverished, I've started. There's still a long way to go, especially on learning to communicate in Swahili, but I've got many more months here.

About an hour ago, at 5pm, my luggage finally arrived and I cannot describe to you the feeling of putting on a new shirt after 5 days of wearing the same one. Good times. Today we snorkled in coral reef off the coast of Zanzibar (much better than puerto rico). Tomorrow we take a boat trip to a nearby island to swim with dolphins. I've got to run but I can't wait to post pictures. Take care yall.

Advertisement



30th January 2009

You're alive!!! That's good news. We all miss you and I'll make sure to let people know that you've posted something so everyone can be on the look out for blog updates. Please make friends with Flipper for me and take cool pics. So far it sounds like one hell of an adventure and a very smelly five day old shirt. Miss you!~~Rachel
1st February 2009

malaria will scary ya
Tyler, I googled some images of Stone Town in Zanzibar and it's trippy!!! Way beyond Brazil, Costa Rica or Puerto Rico, which seem tame by comparison. I know you're soaking it all up! I talked to a girl at the office who did SIT in Kenya and Tanzania about 5 years when the malaria problem was really bad. (I gather it's improved somewhat since then.) Anyway, she said half the people on the program got malaria EVEN THO they'd been taking their medication. So be careful. Swat the buggers B4 they bite you and, of course, do the minimum and don't forget to take your medicine every week. Keep blogging. The stories are fun to hear.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb