ISP Writing in Stone Town


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 7th 2007
Published: August 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, after two amazing nights at Fundu Lagoon we are all back in Stone Town cramming in as much time in front of computers as we can to write our ISPs...a frustrating experience with unreliable outcomes here usually! I have already been typing for 5 hours today and fighting my way through excel to graph all this data. I wish I knew how to use that program a little better! We are still on our own for the next three nights in stone town. I am living in my apartment...and it turns out that the whole building was where all the SIT ladies ended up. People are crashed on the floor and sharing rooms...we jokingly refer to it as the SIT brothel. The hard part is the lack of keys...three sets between about 12 of us. Last night I accidentally locked the keys to my room padlock in my room...luckily I have a screen on my bared window that was already cut, so we made this crazy contraption to hook my backpack from the far side of the room and drag it over so I could fish out the keys. Thank goodness it worked!!! I slept horribly last night. Not what I needed when I have so much work to do. I was up at 5 and headed out into town to find breakfast at 6...nothing is happening here at that time in the morning. It was kind of nice to just wander the streets though. I miss working by the pool at Fundu or on the beach in Misali...it is really different having to crack down and process all this work with distractions of people everywhere. I present on Monday though, so i am really getting close to being done with this paper, and it is coming along really well.

I am getting really ready to be coming home. We are here for only 8 more days. It was so much fun to see all the girls again after being separated for three weeks, but we are all too busy to really catch up right now. Monday night will be good for that when the papers are done and handed in. Oh, in case you were wondering, it is still really hot and muggy here. I am not really used the rain either. It rains a lot more here than it ever did on Misali. Well, time to get back to work on this paper!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb