Nov 20th--Just Dessert


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
November 20th 2007
Published: November 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well...I finally have found a very memorable dessert in Africa and surprisingly it contains no chocolate at all. It's called sticky pudding and it was fabulous. I've already had two today...one at lunch and one at dinner. I didn't think that it was possible to have a dessert this memorable that didn't contain chocolate. Anne told me she had something similar in Scotland. OK, here it is...a piece of warm moist date cake, covered with warm, high cream content caramel. We haven't had anything we would call moist so far in Africa so this was a treat. Most of the desserts are reminisent of a desert not a dessert...so this was joyous. The caramel was like melted Wurther's candies only much much better and had more rich cream and more butter. I will try to replicate this when I get home.

We've arrived in Zanzibar and have been in Stone Town the last two days. Olivia was very sick Sunday night and we thought we might not be able to come. We found out later Sunday that she hadn't been taking her Malaria meds so we immediately began treating her for Malaria. We don't know if that is what she has but it is a good bet considering we are in Tanzania. She has been laying low here for the last two days and hasn't optimized all the shopping opportunities available to her so she must be really sick. Poor Olivia...Pole.

Pole in Kiswahili means sorry for your troubles. It's very different from saying sorry in English which tends to show some responsibility for the trouble but in Pole means a more heart felt understanding for the trouble or pain. There is much more empathy in Pole than in Sorry.

Zanzibar is very humid and hot. I am sitting at the computer and have sweat dripping on most places on my body. I was caught in a downpour earlier having gotten lost in the maze of streets here in Stone Town. I went out on my own looking for the Anglican Cathedral that was built on a former slave trading post. After going in circles twice I finally hired a tout...called a tick in kiswahili...to show me where it was. He was about ten or eleven and we were followed by two of his friends whom I also had to tip before they would leave me alone. The kids were pretty cute so I really didn't mind. I amazingly found my way back on my own. We swam in the hotel pool to cool off and Olivia took a nap while Anne and I went out to explore some more of Stone Town. Tomorrow we leave for our spice tour early and then we are off to the beach for five days. We hope to do some sunbathing and swiming and just relax. It's been a long haul since September. By the way after we swim in the ocean tomorrow we'll have swam in the Pacific, Atlantic and Indian Oceans in one year. It's amazing we've traveled so far.

Advertisement



28th November 2007

Miss you!
Sorry I have not emailed for so long. I never sent a snail mail package either! My excuses are poor so I will beg forgiveness and hope that you will still come over for dinner when you come home! I hope poor Olivia is better by now. We look forward to seeing you all when you come home. Stay safe and God bless you all. Your safari sounded like it was fascinating!!! The world is so big and we are so small. Thank God for the blessings we have. I hope we can be of some help on your re-entry into Minnesota life. Enjoy the last few days in Africa and I hope you will travel as you planned in Amsterdam. Peace of the Lord. You have done well oh good and faithful servants! Love, Elizabeth and family.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 41; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb