Pictures from my mini-vacation to Dar Es Salaam and Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My mini-vacation to Dar and Zanzibar


Driving around DarDriving around DarDriving around Dar

This is a picture from inside a car in Dar Es Salaam, the cultural and social capital of Tanzania. Driving rules are more like guidelines.

Pictures from my mini-vacation to Dar Es Salaam and Zanzibar

 Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Stone Town By Madeleine
June 30th 2007
My mini-vacation to Dar and Zanzibar
MAC
Here are a bunch of pictures from my little mini-vacation to Dar Es Salaam and Zanzibar, plus a little safari.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Port of Dar Es SalaamPort of Dar Es Salaam
Port of Dar Es Salaam

This is the crowded Dar port where I took the ferry to Zanzibar. I got seasick on the way back and scored a place on the front of the boat where only the crew is allowed...aka great photo ops (it was definitely worth getting sick).
Dried OctopusDried Octopus
Dried Octopus

Dried Octopus....I wasn't brave enough to try the dried octopus but I did try octopus soup and octopus tentacles...which are actually pretty good. It tastes a lot like calamari.
Anna and PraiseAnna and Praise
Anna and Praise

This is my sister, Anna, and her best friend, Praise (who is now a good friend of mine.)
Me and my little BarakaMe and my little Baraka
Me and my little Baraka

This is me and my little Baraka. Baraka means blessing in Swahili.
Beach on Tanzania coastBeach on Tanzania coast
Beach on Tanzania coast

This is the beach where I went dolphin watching. Pretty pretty.
Dar fish stallsDar fish stalls
Dar fish stalls

Multiple this by, like, 50 and you get the size of the fish floor in the main market in Dar Es Salaam. Believe me it smelled great. Fish is a staple in Tanzania, expecially in Dar Es Salaam. Sometimes you are even expected to eat the bones, head, fins and all.
View from my hotel room in DarView from my hotel room in Dar
View from my hotel room in Dar

The rooftops of Dar as viewed from my hotel room on the first day.
Kids at madrasatKids at madrasat
Kids at madrasat

I was lucky enough to befriend a local Zanzibarian who took me to see a madrasat or Quran school.
LionLion
Lion

Picture from my Safari...I was lucky enough to see lions which are only seen about once a week. There were three females and a cub. I got within ten feet - eek!
Mama Sweetbert and I grinding maizeMama Sweetbert and I grinding maize
Mama Sweetbert and I grinding maize

Some of the women in a village where I work decided it would be great fun to teach the mzungu (white girl) how to grind maize. I had fun!
Market stall in DodomaMarket stall in Dodoma
Market stall in Dodoma

One of the stands in the market in Dodoma, the city I live in.
Me with two Masai craft vendors in ZanzibarMe with two Masai craft vendors in Zanzibar
Me with two Masai craft vendors in Zanzibar

Here is me with two Masai in Zanzibar. The Masai are traditionally cattle herders and do not see any advantage to dressing Western and so stick with their traditional clothing. However they are anything but traditional. These two are craft vendors.
Mpunguzi farmerMpunguzi farmer
Mpunguzi farmer

One of the farmers in Mpunguzi Village.
Tembos (elephants)Tembos (elephants)
Tembos (elephants)

Some tembos that I saw on the safari. One had a baby and actually started chargin the car when we got too close. It is funny now - it was scary at the time.
Sunset in Stonestown, ZanzibarSunset in Stonestown, Zanzibar
Sunset in Stonestown, Zanzibar

Here is the sunset off of Zanzibar. The middle boat is a traditional dow (sailboat). Needless to say, the view was was breathtaking.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb