Before I Return to The Middle of Nowhere.....


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Kendwa
April 12th 2009
Published: April 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A couple misc notes.

First, a word to the seniors (and the super-super seniors) at F&M, fear not, I think I'll be at your graduation. I'll be the one with a box of tissues, balling my eyes out.

Second, a shoutout to Eagles Nest, I miss everybody a ton. Glad to hear you are enjoying the blog and hopefully you are learning some stuff. I hope all the 5th graders are having a great spring and excited about Middle School. I hope everybody is still loving Eagles Nest and telling Janelle and the volunteers how awesome and fantabulous they are each and every week. And to all the kids, I hope Fulton ES is still treating you right, finish the school year strong!!

Also, I apologies for any bad words I might have written. My bad. However, this blog will continue to be rated PG regardless :-)

Third, the rumors are true. I've lost some weight. When I last weighed in, I had dropped about 10 pounds, and that was a month ago. I'd guestimate that I weigh 15 pounds less right now, though it could be as much as 20. I eat lots of food each day, though. I have a huge lunch each day, especially because the family I'm staying with at Zala Park feeds me. My next post I'll take some pictures of food so you can get a better idea of what I've been putting in myself. Lots of fruit, lots of rice and porrage, lots of fish, and lots of fried foods (too many, in fact) They seem to fry every type of bread, potatoes, rice - they use so much oil.

Take care, miss yall!!!

Advertisement



23rd April 2009

AWOL
Dude, you've gone AWOL on us! Almost 2 weeks and no blog. Can't you submit something, even short? What about the school kids who wait with baited breath?!? Words. Language. You need to learn big/small, hot/cold, funny, interesting/boring, and smart/dumb. I'm glad you're getting to places where people--the kids at least--have never seen a white person. Didn't know such places existed any more. One time, when traveling at night in the Gambia, we stopped our car at a small village with no electricity. When the kids ran up to the car to see what was up and saw the 2 of us white people inside, they ran away in terror screaming "Ghosts! Ghosts!"

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0805s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb