Oct 20th--The International Language of Toddlers


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Usa River
October 20th 2007
Published: October 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After having been working at the Baby Home now for 5 weeks I've observed that no matter the culture or language of the toddler most of them know how to “Give you five.” As I was thinking about this today I was reminded of the movie Close Encounters of the Third Kind and how at the end of the movie the only way the earth humans could communicate to the alien ship was through a musical five note sequence. Some of the older toddlers and most of the younger ones here react to whatever I say in English with a real or feigned look of confusion but if I hold my hand out and say “give me five” each one will respond with a grin and slap my hand. Why is it that all children know this game? Is it something innate? Does our world community unconsciously give our children a simple way to communicate with each other regardless of the culture? Maybe if we all “Give each other five” more often we could eliminate some of the miscommunication that exists. Imagine if world leaders greeted each other with “Give me five” or on special occasions or treaty signings to use two hands to “get ten.” Maybe someday we will encounter a being from outer space and we will greet them by giving them five…or maybe three. By the way if you want to say "Give me five" in Swahili, you would say "Nipa Tano!"

Advertisement



21st October 2007

Nipa Tano!!!
Nipa Tano when you get home!!!! Thanks for the beautiful message. We continue to pray that you touch the lives of those you serve and that you will be safe and well. I will give Nipa Tano to others this week!! Peace, Elizabeth

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb