Kwa Heri Mwanza


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mwanza
July 18th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today is my last day in Mwanza. It's a little sad because I have really felt at home this past three weeks here. But I AM ready for my summer to begin...which it has! Classes are all finished, tests have all been taken, and papers have all been written. I therefore will finally embark upon my summer relaxing trip with a voyage through the Serengeti and around the northern circuit of Tanzania. I cannot tell you how excited I am.

Anyway, yesterday I went into town with Caitlin, Ashley Y, and Pulchery. We did some last-minute gift-shopping and purchased some snack food for the Serengeti (all of mine is still intact except for the chocolate...but that was never even expected to make it back to campus). I got some really nice things and didn't bargain as much as I probably should have because I liked the things, I needed to get the things, and I still have extra money that wasn't spent during Kigoma/Gombe Stream. The prices were good though, just slightly higher than Dar. I'll label the extra fees I paid as transportation cost (oh, how I hate econ...).

Today, classes were officially finished so we decided that we are going out for lunch. And dinner. Lunch at the New Mwanza Hotel, where they serve outstanding Indian food. Even Indians go there to eat Indian food. Now I don't eat Indian food (the spices get to be too much for me), but I'm going anyway and will get one of their other yummy dishes. Then, for dinner, we plan to go next door to the pizza place again. We kind of feel like it's been our little home and that it would make a nice wrap-up dinner. The plan is still up in the air, but that's what it looks like.

So it doesn't look like I will have any internet access until either the last day or I return to the US. The entire next 10 days will then be posted as separate entries based on location (keeps me organized as well). I will write them out as I experience the places so that it will be as full as all of these past entries. Finally, here is the proposed itinerary:

Saturday 19 July: Leave 7:30 AM for Serengeti National Park
Sunday 20 July: Serengeti National Park
Monday 21 July: Ngorongoro Crater Conservation Area
Tuesday 22 July: Lake Manyara National Park
Wednesday 23 July: Arusha (and meeting up with Samantha, who was in my Swahili class at Georgetown)
Thursday 24 July: Return to Dar es Salaam by bus
Friday 25 July: Leave 10:00 AM on Zanzibar ferry
Saturday 26 July: Return mid-afternoon on Dar es Salaam ferry
Sunday 27 July: Flight at 9:30 PM from Dar to Nairobi to Zurich
Monday 28 July: Flight at 10:30 AM from Zurich to New York

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb