I made it to the foot of Mt. Kili


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
February 18th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The PackThe PackThe Pack

Here's my pack for my 1'st camping Safari!
Since the plan changed and I'm traveling alone now, I am so happy I made it here with no problems. I took one of the deluxe buses (no toilet and very NATURAL A/C- LOL!!) from Dar es Salaam to Moshi (the area where you start climbing Kilimanjaro. Leaving Dar was exciting and at the same time, nerve-wrecking because plans had changed and I had no idea where I was going. Thank goodness for "the gift of gab": I had been using it all week prior to coming and found many contacts who knew somebody who knew somebody.... So I boarded the charter with no plans or reservations and a list of phone numbers in the SMS my cell phone. Maybe it was the Daily Bread I studied when I did when I 1st sat down or the peaceful countryside of Tanzania that calmed me, but I called one of my numbers and got reservations at a VERY user-friendly YMCA in Moshi. I arrived and took the taxi as they instructed- even paid a little less than anticipated! The rooms here are neat and clean and mine even has a view of the olympic-sized swimming pool! After I settled in the room,
On the JourneyOn the JourneyOn the Journey

Lunch break at the Gallery
I went out to see if I could find someone to help me plan my trek up the mountain and sure enough in the lobby here is a travel planner. I had a long talk with the proprietor using that gift again and next thing you know he's helping me figure out how I can bring friends and family over and also buy discount Tanzanite. (precious stone only mined here) Now he calls me "family." So he's plans to join me with a group going up tomorrow or Monday for the group rate since the individual rate is crazy-expensive. Everythings looking up and soon I will be to once I start my climb. Wish me luck!!! Stay tuned pictures to come soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

On the JourneyOn the Journey
On the Journey

Lunch break at the Gallery


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb