One month milestone...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
November 29th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mambo! (A cool and hip way to say how are you, I suppose the literal translation might be 'whats up?')

We are offically a month in and I can't beleive it. How time has rushed by but by the same token I feel I have done loads. I have only 3 weeks left with the kids at Kili Kids and that thought is horrible. I've grown very attached to the little terrors even though they are sometimes partial to urinating on your arm or putting your hair in their mouth. Alice had her last day with her kids on friday as her school closes for Christmas holidays. Obviously my school doesn't close for christmas as the orphans have no where to go home to so Alice will join me for the remainder of our time here which will be nice.

An old volunteer who used to stay at Hostel Hoff and worked at Kili Kids came back to visit so we decided to treat the kids and take them out for lunch. The children never leave the orphanage (unless someone pays for it) and its a wonder why they haven't gone crazy by cabin fever. So we loaded all 24 of them up in their large vehicle along with some of the staff and Sophia (the teacher at KiliKids) and her children. We took them to a local hotel which had outdoor seating and a massive play area with swings and slides and allsorts. You would have thought all of this would be quite an ordeal but it was quite the opposite. The kids were like little angels and it was incredibly warming to see their faces light up when they saw the play area and was lovely to see them so thankful for the food and time away. 'Thank you aunty' they would say 'I love you Aunty' - it was adorable! This is something I am definately doing again before I leave as a christmas treat, and maybe even get some ice cream :-)

Last night we went to an outdoor bar called Glacier. It has this long bar with a thatched roof and a stage and a massive garden for people to sit and chat. It just so happened that last night they had a reggae band playing. They were really good and played their own songs along with some classib Bob Marley hits it was great. So we all danced the night away. After they finished we met the band and before I know it they insist that I sing with them at their next gig which is next weekend. So i'll let you know what happens there, don't think i'm up to rivaling the great big belting african voices!

Apart from taking this kids to the park and going out last night this week has been fairly quiet. Although I say quiet it does not mean relaxing, oh no. I admire the people who work at the orphanage full time, as after I leave I feel all my energy has gone (which I think is a good sign other wise that means I wasn't putting in any effort?) but these ladies are saints they really are, runnning after them like headless chickens.

Tomorrow I think we will be having just a relaxing day by the pool and in the evening we have been invited, along with the whole hostel, to join these other volunteers across the road for a bbq. I heard about it last night as one of the guys was trying to sell it to me "There will be loads of meat, sausages, burgers, chicken, ribs" to which I replied "I'm a vegetarian" But none the less that should be nice to meet some more volunteers around the town along with a lot of locals as well.

Alot of people whp are staying in Hostel Hoff go on 3 - 4 day safaris and it seems silly to come to Africa and not go on safari. I'm quite proud to say we have managed to keep on budget this month very well but won't be able to afford a full blown safari (they cost $570!!) but what we plan to do next weekend is get a public daladala to a national park nearby and see what we can spot. Alternitively we may wait untill be get to Zambia where we will be saving money on accomodation and then do a proper one there but again I'll keep you posted.

This is probably all I have time to say right now. I am as happy as ever and looking forward to the next 8 months of adventure. I love hearing from you guys at home so keep me updated too!

Lots of Love from Moshi,


Meg.

Advertisement



1st December 2008

Awwwwwww you guys are so cute, I love reading your lil blog it does make me smile ... I may even be SLIGHTLY jealous of your gap year now ... but not too jealous ... I'll get drunk tonight and forget that I got jealous. LOVE YOU GUYS! Keep up the brilliant work. :) XxxxxxxX

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb