Thoughts - Phil


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
May 26th 2008
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This weekend has been an eyeopening experience for me. We left the Spring Lands Hotel in Moshi to go on a safari. During the journey we made a stop at St. Jude School, a new primary school catering to the very poorest of children. This was the first of three instances which really effected me this weekend. Seeing the kids at the St. Jude school and the children in the orphanages was the most influential on how I saw this weekend. Our safari was very rewarding, but I think personally seeing the children at St. Jude, and the school which Zara tours has taken under their wing, and finally the local male orphanage outside Arusha had the most profound effect on me. I am sure that the way I see service when I get home will never be the same. Many people might see television adds about helping children in Africa, many might pass them off as scams or think to themselves, others will support them so why should I. I hope that the people who say these things actually travel to see the work which has been done on behalf of the young children at each of these schools. Prior to our safari and weekend excursions we had a lecture about the education system in Tanzania. Fortunately Tanzania has been able to make their primary education virtually free (hopefully in a few years it will be completely free). I was surprised to find out that there is no preschools run by the government so school children start in government schools at the age of 7. this means that unless the child is fortunate to be able to pay for their preschool tuition, they will be living on the street without an education till the age of 7. We are back at the Spring Lands Hotel and are working at the Kilimanjaro English Nursery school for the next few days, then we are visiting at Masai Bouma and then leaving Moshi on Friday night.

Phil

Advertisement



26th May 2008

to Phil
Phil, Thanks for sharing your impressions of the St Jude and the boys orphanage. I am looking forward to seeing your photos after you return home. Any chance you would put some on a disk and send them to me? Enjoy the rest of your amazing journey! patty

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb