First week in Moshi


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
March 8th 2007
Published: March 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

Have been in Moshi, Tanzania for less than a week but I am absolutely loving it and already know that 3 weeks here is not going to be enough. I have 2 weeks after the project before I fly so i'm half thinking about staying for another week here.
As i flew into Kilimanjaro airport from Nairobi we flew right past Mt Kilimanjaro. It was absolutely stunning. I also have an awesome view of it from our balcony. It totally dominates the skyline here. I have however made a definite decision not to climb it. It is sooooo big and have heard some horror stories from other volunteers. Some made it to the top, others didn't but i just don't think I could cope with 6 days of hard core trekking like that, followed my sheer rock climbing without harnesses on summit day. It also costs about $600. I've been told the best way to see Kili is by doing a skydive, so . . . . . ! (Don't worry Mum and Dad - you get complete training and you do it in tandem)

The project is great. I am teaching (well attempting to teach) at a nursery/children's centre called Shining Star. The kids there are unbelievable and it really pulls at your heart strings. This nursery is however one of the better resourced within Moshi so I hate to think what the others are like. The kids range from 2-6 years old. They are all in one class so it can be really difficult because the range of abilitiles is vast and the little ones find it difficult to concentrate. It is also difficult to teach when they spend most of the time climbing on me, stroking my hair and white skin. I sometimes feel more of a hindrance than a help! I am going to trey and raise some money for them in some way to buy them some more toys etc. A sandpit would be great for them.

In the afternoons I have been doing various other things. Teaching Netball, teaching English to a Women's group and yesterday watched a highly competitive football match between two local secondary schools. The rest of the schools were supporting and everytime a goal was scored I generally feared for my life standing on the sidelines as there was mass celebration and almost pitch invasion. It was however good to see the pupils be so enthusiastic about it.

Everewhere I go, whether I am on my own or with other volunteers, we become the centre of attention. Walking anywhere we usually have a small gaggle of children following us shouting Mzungu (white person). Last Sunday we went to church and most of the congregation spent the whole time staring at us more than the pastor. Even though we were sitting at the back. Everyone is very friendly and so welcoming.

All the volunteers are great and it is very social. We are having a volunteer party tonight to ssay goodbye to someone who is leaving. On Saturday we have been invited to a wedding so that will also be quite exciting.

Lots of Love to you all.
xxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb