Shalom Orphanage Centre - Danny


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Lake Manyara
May 26th 2008
Published: May 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Prior to returning to Moshi from the safari on Sunday, we had the opportunity to meet the kids at the Shalom Orphanage Centre, which was just down the street from the hotel in which we were staying. Upon meeting the kids, we got to play games, sing songs, and run around. When I walked into the orphanage, one kid ran up to me and grabbed my hand. This was obviously normal. The young children we have met have almost always been extremely excited to see and play with us.

But what I found interesting was that the little boy who grabbed my hand, whose name is Calvin, kept holding onto it. He didn't want me to leave. Usually, a child will grab one of our hands for a short time and then run away. Calvin was different. It certainly felt good to have made a friend.

Later, I learned that Calvin is one of the few children at the orphanage who is HIV positive. Just before learning this, I found it odd that Calvin seemed reluctant in playing games, running around, and talking with the other children. I have no idea whether the other children knew about Calvin having HIV or the HIV made Calvin have less energy than the other children, but suddenly Calvin seemed like a different person. I cannot possibly imagine what it would be like to live with HIV or AIDS. Although after hearing the stories about some people being ostracized from society for having the virus, I became quite proud of Calvin. He may not have enjoyed running around as much as the other children, but he was just as much a part of the orphanage as anyone else.

I only wish we could have stayed at the orphanage longer. Calvin made me want to stay.

Advertisement



26th May 2008

to Danny
Danny, Enjoyed reading about your little buddy, Calvin. Sounds as if you made a big impact on him....and vice versa. I imagine you will each 'remember' each other's face forever. Wish I were with you guys! Went to Yellowstone this weekend....still a little wintry there....saw a grizzly and yearling today....they were beautiful! Patty

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb