Last bit of TNZ and reflection of the whole TRIP!!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
April 2nd 2010
Published: April 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I spent my last day in Tanzania volunteering and spending time with my new local friends. I taught both classes at the nursery school, the real youngsters (3-5) and the older class (5-7), and played outside. These kids are so smart for how young they are; it blew my mind. They can all say the ABCs and count really high. Their math skills impressed me the most as they could do both basic addition and subtraction by drawing balls and counting them.

It was hard for me to teach them at times as I needed to translate things in Swahili, so they would understand what we were doing. I noticed that if I was teaching them something they would just repeat everything I was saying, but weren't really absorbing the information. For example, we would go through color flash cards and they would seem to all be getting it, but if I just held up the card for only them to say the color they had no idea. They often would all be looking up at me with these confused little faces, but I could tell they were trying so hard understand what I was talking about. But I got through it and hopefully taught them a lot. Or at least gave the teachers some ideas for new ways of teaching.

I brought them gifts that day, but it was overwhelming having them all reaching at me saying, "teacher, teacher". It sounded like a bunch of zombies coming at me, so I decided to give all the stickers and nice flash cards to the teachers for them to use in the future. I felt so bad telling them I was leaving. They kept asking me, "when will you be back?" One of the teachers and I talked for awhile about the situation of the school and herself, mainly about the finances.

I left there that day so sad and frustrated! I knew I'd been of some help the last few weeks, but I was frustrated because I don't know how I can truly help in the future. I want to so badly! To be honest, I don't trust sending my money over there to anyone. I really came to the realization of how much corruption there is in our world; it makes me sick to my stomach.

In the afternoon I went to the orphanage and played soccer for hours. It makes the kids so happy and their skills are very impressive. I'd always bring two soccer balls and felt so bad having to take them everyday when I left (that day I left them - ssshh 😉. I noticed some kids had actually made their own ball out of trash (plastic, paper and rope); it worked pretty well. I want to send them a huge bag of balls!

That day the power was out, so as the sun was setting I raced to pack and was literally soaking wet. I felt like I was in a sauna. All I wanted was to shower before my 30+ hours of traveling home and there was no water. I know, ew! And of course right as I finished the power came on - haha! I spent the evening with the locals that hang around the volunteer house all the time. It was so weird saying goodbye to everyone as I will probably never see them again. 😞 But we did exchange contact info to hopefully keep in touch. Sad day!

So after a 9 hour flight to Amsterdam; security interigation and x-rays in Amsterdam (because of the underpant bomber); a 9 hour flight to Detroit; more security and customs; and a 6 hour flight to San Francisco I was barely moving. Walking like a zombie I made it to baggage claim and in the distance I saw familiar face (I was suppose to take BART to meet Jon). I yelled MMMOOOMMMM!?! (yes with a question mark) and ran to hug her as my tired self couldn't fight back the tears. I think my fellow passengers were confused as to what was going on and why I was such a mess, especially since they thought I was only coming from Detroit...haha if they only knew. 

After being home now for some time I have really been able to reflection on my trip. Now that I am home I feel as though it went really fast and I can't believe I am already back. But to be honest when I was gone it felt a lot longer than only four weeks. I think it had everything do with the fact that I was traveling alone. In Europe, I was so lucky to have such amazing friends, Wendy and Giulia, who took me in! In Africa, it was a little harder as I was all alone. I am really glad that I did it and that I experienced traveling alone; you do a lot of thinking! I am not sure if I would ever go somewhere totally new and foreign alone again. Of course I enjoyed every single minute of it and embraced it all, but it's just not as fun not having someone close to you to share the experiences with. I know for a fact that I grew so much as a person and I am actually really proud of myself. At times I thought; "what in the hell am I doing?" And wanted to just cry; cry for my mommy. Yet I always got through it.

I am so lucky! Thankfully, I never ran into any issues, never really felt scared or unsafe, and never got sick. I met so many amazing people along the way and had so many people help me. I made such good friends with different people that I traveled with for only a few days. You really get to know each other fast when you are traveling in a 3rd world country; trust me! It was so hard to always have to say goodbye to new friends knowing you'd may not see them for a long time or ever again. I nearly cried saying goodbye to people after only knowing them for a few days and I know that probably sounds so strange.

Tanzania taught me so much about myself, the world, and life in general. The poverty is widespread and illness is rampant, yet the people are generally so happy and nice. It's the life they live and know, and really they don't know anything else. Their lives are very simple and that's all they know, so it makes it okay. I honestly loved the simplicity of their lifestyles and often laid back regime; I think America could learn a thing or two from their culture: to slowdown and simplify our lives.

As for the children that I taught, played with, and became so close to, they were so, so, so very amazing. They were the highlight of my trip! Absolutely brilliant, courageous, strong, beautiful, sweet, loving, talented...I could go on and on. The life skills and potential these 7 year olds and younger each possess was unbelievable. The lives they are living are so 'real', I probably don't even understand what they experience and go through given my background; they are forced to be independent and are unspoiled.

It's crazy to meet and observe lives with a world that is so different from yours. The conversations I had with people blew me away as our cultures are so diverse. But yet we are all human beings. The Tanzanians are very welcoming to Muzungus (white people) allowing our similarities and differences to create a strong connection, so we can embrace one another and ultimately learn from each other. I loved that! I love that! I love Tanzania! (It will be in my heart forever! I hope to return.) And I love life!!!!

Thanks for reading my blog... Until next time: laugh often, eat well, and love much. Life is precious and short so LIVE IT UP!

Ciao for now! TeenyD.



Advertisement



2nd April 2010

I really enjoyed your Africa post. I have always wanted to go there. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have the time check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb