I can predict the weather!!!


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan
October 18th 2007
Published: October 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have discovered in myself the skill of predicting the weather. At least when it will rain...

All I have to do is wash my clothes and hang them on the line to dry. Shortly after the clothes are hung up, clouds suddenly appear, and WHAM! Microburst downpour on top of the clothes line. Awesome.

This rain also only tends to appear when I am driving out of the camp for a patrol or to do errands. My clothes are flapping happilly on the clothes line like innocent little things that flap, and whammy! (Salute to AnchorMan) The next thing they know they are being blown off the line, covered in burrs and seed pods, and covered in sand and muck. Sweet.

The other occasion that I have been able to predict the rainfall is when Iget motivated enough to go running. The rain only appears once I have hit my stride, found my rhythm (read: haven't hypervetilated and died yet) and have extended my normal route for a longer trip. It is at the furthes point from the camp that the rain appears. This happened again today... and I have two nice little puddles forming around my shoes as I am writing this. Really Awesome.

this week has been so-so to date. Yesterday was a killer, that had me fed-up and stressed out with work and life here in general. I was tired of pulling 90% of the workload, and was getting frustrated with my colleagues who were sleeping (and snoring) in their chairs while I was working. This is par for the course with one guy, a Lt-Col from Benin. I think he is narcoleptic. Seriously. Last week we were on a patrol to the Joint Military HQ in town, and had just sat down with their DCO/Operations Officer. I introduced myself, small talked, and discussed some issues. I turned to ask my partner if he had anything to add? ZZZzzzzz...... No shit. He was asleep in the the office, during a patrol, during an interview. I quit.

Anyhow, I'm off on CTO on Monday. Laura has heard from the surgeon who was a total jackass, who had no regard for personal kindness, had no compassion or empathy and had no respect for her condition. I think I'm going to drive to Campbell River and punch him when I get home. Anyway, he suggested taking two weeks to assess the damage to her back, but said there is no way the herniated disc will self-correct/heal. It was far too severe. So surgery is off for atleast two weeks, but we are both extremely hesitatant about letting that idiot anywhere near my girlfriend with a sharp object.

Anyhow... it looks like I will finish my mission here on 18 Nov, and head home a couple of days after that. See you guys in a month!!! Yay!

Don

Advertisement



22nd October 2007

Weather witch...
Don, never knew you were so domesticated...laundry, cooking, even gardening!?! Looking forward to you coming back and bringing all your toys (camera gear) out to the trail. Your time away will be the CoW "lost years" with no documentaries.
31st October 2007

Final countdown
Hey Dude, chin up, the end is near. We'll be seeing you soon. As for your narcoleptic patrol mate, he might have done some Naval Engineering training...I know I can sleep most anywhere, most anytime...I guess that comes in handy...

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb