My travels


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan » North » Khartoum
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I start my travels on 6th September 2008 when I travel to Canada. I'll be there for a month, coming back on 4th October (arriving back in England on 5th October). I'm going with a really good friend of mine and we're hoping to hire a camper van and just go where the fancy takes us. Having said that, we're arriving in Calgary, travelling up through the Rockies - Banff, Lake Louise etc. Then we're travelling across country to Vancouver and Vancouver Island, stopping off for a few days in Whistler where my son lives. So I'll get to see him, which is a bonus. Then it's on to Vancouver Island to catch a boat to take an all day trip up the coast to Prince Rupert. After a couple of days in Prince Rupert, we'll catch the train to Jasper, then mooch back down to Calgary and catch the flight home.

After a whistle-stop back home, a few days later it'll be on another plane, but this time to spend about 7 months in Sudan as a volunteer teacher. I expect it to be hellishly hot, dusty, uncomfortable and ultimately, incredibly rewarding. Can't wait. I don't think it'll be a picnic, but I reckon it'll be the experience of a lifetime.

That's all for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb