Woodroofe School donations


Advertisement
South Sudan's flag
Africa » South Sudan
January 25th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just prior to Christmas a flyer went out at Woodroofe Public school asking the parents and kids to donate money to help complete the classroom at the Al Gous school. Over a period of just two weeks, over $2700 was raised for this cause. When Dawn told me the good news I met with the School principal and we went to the Dilling market to commence buying some building supplies for the school. On 15 Dec the school principal, our language assistant and I bought 10,000 bricks which were needed to complete the building of the roof for the classroom.

That weekend, the parents and community members living near the school got together to start the construction of the roof. The parents were incredibly happy that the parents and students of Woodroofe school had taken an interest in their project and were extremely grateful for the initial support. It should be noted that no labour was contracted and that the parents and community members completely coordinated the construction of the classroom once the materials were purchased.

On 22 December, after seeing how quickly the community responded to the delivery of the supplies, the school principal and I went on another shopping trip to purchase the materials needed to roof the classroom (metal supports and zinc coated sheets). Once again the materials were delivered that day (by donkey) and on 2 Jan 09 the community was once again at work completing the roof installation.

On 4 Jan I left Dilling to come back home for three weeks for one of my breaks. During my time back home I was able to meet with the principal at Woodroofe and thank her and the parents for their support. I was also asked to give a quick presentation to the students on the project. I believe that the presentations went well and I made sure to pass on the thanks of the parents and students of the Al Gous school to the Woodroofe kids and parents for their donations.

I will be heading back shortly to Dilling and I am very excited to complete this project with the money remaining from the Woodroofe donations. The floor of the classroom needs to be completed, as well as the siding and a door and five windows will have to be purchased and installed. I will keep you posted on the progress over the next couple of weeks. Thanks again Woodroofe for all of your donations and support!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb