A Relaxing Day


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
September 20th 2014
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 View01 View01 View

The view of the mountains from our bedroom window.
Geo: -29.2004, 29.5276

It was dark when we arrived here last night and we were not aware of the great view from our lodge. This morning Paul took his guests for a bird walk around the lodge and I enjoyed a little sleep in. This is when I noticed the great view from our bedroom window. The view was amazing even though it was a cloudy, overcast day. I could see the valley with the walking trails that lead to the cave and continue on to other natural attractions in the reserve.

It was then time for me to prepare brunch and soon after they returned from the birding walk. We had a great spread and I enjoyed having a cooked breakfast. At 11am Paul and Max went for a walk to the cave to see the rock paintings, Juliane rested and I used this time to go for a small walk around the area. The clouds were still about and there was no sign of blue sky or the sun. The scenery was quite spectacular, surrounded by rocky hills and valleys.

I walked to the restaurant and went out to the deck to observe the view. It was a great view
02 View02 View02 View

The view of the mountains from our bedroom window.
from here too. An interesting sight was to see where the grass had been burnt and where it hadn't. I continued my walk. I finally spotted some dassies and stalked them to take photos of them. This wasn't hard to do, as they are slow moving creatures and they weren't scared of me. I also spotted a few birds and tried to take decent photos of them.

I enjoyed my walk among the crisp, mountain air. Back at the lodge I relaxed until our afternoon drive.

At about 5pm we went for a short little drive. This reserve is better seen by hiking, but we were in the mood to be lazy! Nothing too interesting was seen on our afternoon drive, besides the scenery. A lot of the hills were covered in very dry grass. We saw a couple of birds and a Black Backed Jackal running along. This afternoon's drive was the shortest on record as we were gone for only forty minutes!

Before I started preparing dinner, I took photos of our lodge's interesting interior. The lodge was built around huge rocks. This evening we had a barbecue and then I packed, as tomorrow we were leaving for our
03 View03 View03 View

The view of the mountains from our bedroom window.
last place – Nambiti Game Reserve.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

05 View05 View
05 View

The view of the mountains from our bedroom window.
06 Path06 Path
06 Path

The path that leads to our lodge.
07 Path07 Path
07 Path

The rest of the path that leads to the lodge.
08 Looking Up08 Looking Up
08 Looking Up

The view as I look up from outside our lodge.
09 Looking Up09 Looking Up
09 Looking Up

The view as I look up from outside our lodge.
10 Lodge10 Lodge
10 Lodge

Our luxurious lodge.
11 Flowers11 Flowers
11 Flowers

Tiny yellow flowers.
12 Driveway12 Driveway
12 Driveway

The driveway that leads to our lodge.
13 Looking Up13 Looking Up
13 Looking Up

The view as I look up during my walk around the area.
14 View14 View
14 View

The scenic view on my walk around the area.
15 From the Deck15 From the Deck
15 From the Deck

The view from the restaurant's deck.
16 From the Deck16 From the Deck
16 From the Deck

The view from the restaurant's deck.
17 From the Deck17 From the Deck
17 From the Deck

The view from the restaurant's deck.
18 From the Deck18 From the Deck
18 From the Deck

The view from the restaurant's deck.
19 Dassie19 Dassie
19 Dassie

One of the many dassies around the place.
20 Beyond the Chalets20 Beyond the Chalets
20 Beyond the Chalets

The view of the mountains beyond the chalets.
21 Bird21 Bird
21 Bird

A bird with an orange beak and breast.
22 Bird22 Bird
22 Bird

A bird with a black head.


Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb