Ivy League Vol 4 Iss 8 Autumn has come to Witsand


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Witsand
May 3rd 2011
Published: June 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Jip! It's official … Wian has no ants in his pants. He checked. Uwi won't let Gogo post the photo. A pity; it's soo cute. What is even more official is that the Knee-hi's have departed Witsand and are now back with their parents in Pretoria.

Sigh! Walking along the nature reserve paths or along the river is just not the same without them. My skills in smelling out the enemy along the nature reserve paths are no longer in demand, neither am I required to lick faces; hands and baking bowls clean when Gogo bakes rusks. There's no denying; we are all three; Uwi, Gogo and I, Fusion are very happy to take a break from the ever insistent and pervading noise and constant why, why why?

They kept us very busy… scootering; walking; climbing; swimming; conquering sand dunes; playing on the swing; finding bugs; especially orb spiders; looking for Mrs. Puffy; the puffadder in the west garden; challenging Uwi's skills in keeping them out of the river and rock pools on cold afternoon walks, listening to stories. I could tell Gogo and Uwi were losing IT when they began to allow more and more TV in the evenings. The photos will tell their story.

Winter arrived with icy Antarctic wind and bouts of rain just like the pre-drought days. Then she stepped aside and is now letting Autumn do its things, mellow days, changing colours on the ivy. All is too quiet here, I am worried. Gogo spent too much time with Colleen and Graham and her diary. My humans are planning something, big time; and that's not counting their trip to KwaZUlu Natal for Comrades at the end of May.

As it is; next week Gogo is off to Melkbos Strand to visit her other Knee-hi's and Uwi goes off to Gauteng to earn some money, which leaves me holding the fort here at home. Aah well at least I am building good relationships with Witsand folks. Pat, from up the road, knows where my leash is kept and even takes me for walks when my humans are at home. I'm not complaining.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb