Mini bus taxis


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
October 9th 2006
Published: October 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Travelling about is interesting here. Stellenbosch is about a 40mins walk from the Kayamandi so when you have shopping or laundry etc or if its any time after about 5 when strolling about is not recommended, you have to take a 'mini-bus taxi'. There are hundreds of these mini bus taxis that wait at the parking lots, but thousands of people that need to cram onto them. They are great fun. There are times when I would recommend that Posh Spice should await the next one as she couldn't possible fit, but an African Mama with her wonderful, sizeable behind will shuffle on with sheer determination. One journey in particular made me giggle when a big African mama was 'woo-hoo'ing' as she tried to squeeze herself into the spare inches between my left leg and the window...her behind did not touch the seat for the journey, she just hovered above it. I love the way so many of the African people share a passion for loud expressions...the way they talk, laugh, (get angry!), and the way they randomly burst into song and dance when its not entirely appropriate (like in the staffroom meetings). Most of the children love to sing and
View from KayamandiView from KayamandiView from Kayamandi

Sometimes the backdrop to the township looks to me like it has been propped up on bit of cardboard.
dance. I had such a warming feeling this morning listening to all the children singing when they came together for Monday morning assembley. Everyone gets so into it, especially the teachers, all singing, dancing, clapping, etc...was a lovely sight.

After a slow start which left us redundant for the first hour, today was good day at school. Three of us volunteers (there were 5 but two have left Ikaya schoola s they were not enjoying it which is ashame) taught a group of children nouns, verbs, adverbs etc (which I had to look up in a book beforehand as I couldnt remeber the difference...oops), and did an exercise with another group. We ran an after-school computer class for a group of kids...learned one or two things myself too. Its was particularly hard at break time today as there were so many children trying to get in to use the computers and all pushing at once there was nearly an accident at the door...I hate the job of picking only 9 to come in.

I have moved into a new room of my own as one of the other volunteers has moved out having reached the end of his time here...eventually got to unpack my rucksack. Nice to have all my clothes back too. Last week someone took me to the laundrette to drop off my things...unfortunately it took me two days and a begillion attempts to relocate that laundrette...on a positive note I got to discover the whole of Stellenbosch and have visited every laundrette in the area.



Advertisement



12th October 2006

Fascinating
Emma, I've been reading your diary, and found it totally fascinating. How do you find the time? Best wishes Alan B

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb