Good thing I got a basket


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
February 18th 2008
Published: February 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

going outgoing outgoing out

here is some of my block 5 crew this is our "living room" homie huh?
Nothing too exciting today. Just a few random stories.

I just got back from the grocery store. I had class @ 9 and then I got together with a girl from Ireland to work on our project for tomorrow morning. Tuesday mornings we work in a classroom together at Kayamandi. I think I already talked about how crazy/hectic this experience is. Tomorrow will be our 2 day and our task given by the teacher was to make labels of the body parts to stick on a drawing of the body. This is a bit complicated because the kids don't know English and I don't think they can read. We found out the names in Xhosa and then wrote the English word next to it. While printing all the words and cutting it up I couldn't help but think this whole project is rather useless. That is pretty much the constant feeling while you are in the classroom. The kids just run around doing whatever and then they gather for a few rounds of Head and Shoulders Knees and Toes. Rather productive, eh?
So anyway...as I was saying...after that I remembered that I needed to go to the bike shop to
AmericansAmericansAmericans

here are some of the American boys at the braai
get my bike fixed. The first week here, someone stole the screw off of my bike, where the seat is. My seat twists if I lean, it can do a full 180. And it can only go down to the lowest level. It gives my thighs an unwanted work-out every time I ride it. I figured it was time to take care of that. Also, someone (very rude) tried to steal my basket! It was gone the other day and I found it on a bike close by...so I took it back! I need it to shop and stuff (Justifying my actions). So at the bike place I had them fix my seat and put those plastic zip tie's around my basket. Now my bike is official.
Anyway, right next to the bike shop is the Pick n Pay (local grocery) and I was like hmmm I could use a few things so I went in. Obviously, orange juice was at the top of my list. Then I found ice cream bars, frozen chicken, fish sticks, and some vegetables....all things I couldn't live without. So I bought it all and then realized it might not all fit in my basket.
girlsgirlsgirls

friends at the braai!
(Usually I bring my backpack when I grocery shop- saves me money because they charge you for plastic bags). I was kind of kicking myself as I left for buying so much but I was also excited to eat it 😊 So I put some in my bike basket and put my school bag on my shoulder and hung the other grocer bag from the handle bar. All of this + the fact that the guy who fixed my bike put permanent screws in so I can't move the seat up or down- and he set it really high- made for a pretty entertaining ride home. There is really no point to this story except for I'm sure you guys would have gotten a kick out of watching me ride my bike all the way home, balancing 3 bags and a huge bottle of orange juice. (hoping that the hot sun would not destroy my ice cream bars) But for someone with pretty good unicycling skills, I managed 😊 haha....

So this weekend we had pretty much no plans which was pretty lame so we had to do something about it. We met this guy last weekend that loved
Afrikaans classAfrikaans classAfrikaans class

me & my friend kelsey on valentines day in our Afrikaans class....
American accents (or girls, maybe?) and kept buying everyone drinks. He had told us he would take us wakeboarding or surfing and show us all the cool spots in z.a. We pretty much didn't believe him but this last Friday night we were like hmmmm let's see what our friend from last weekend is doing. So one of the girls text him and he invited us (or we invited ourselves maybe) to hang out on Saturday. He picked us up at McDonalds and we squeezed 7 ppl into one of those tiny, tiny cars they drive here. Real safe, I know. So he drove us to his parents house in Somerset West, about 20 mins away and they live out kinda in the country like on a wine farm. It was UNbelieavbly beautiful....mountains everywhere, wine fields, white houses, pink flowers. We sat outside in their courtyard/ish thing and met his parents and some of their friends and they had us try a couple of the local wines. It was a beautiful place and they were very nice/fun to talk to. His uncle visiting from London comes outside and goes, "Woah, where did you get this rent-a-crowd?" It was pretty funny. And the guy we were with-his dad- spent time in the states doing apple farming and I asked him where and he was like, "Yakima" ....haha so shout out to Yakivegas. Thought that was pretty funny. His parents told him to show us the wine farm next door so we went there and walked around. It is so pretty! All white buildings, green grass, waterfalls, a restaurant.....it's so pretty! We went inside and got to see how everything was made - it kind of reminded me of a very nice and clean milk parlor inside. The wine farm places are so fancy inside! Not like where they actually make it but where you sit and do wine tasting and stuff. Lots of old people touring from Europe and stuff. Some gay couple bought us wine out front on the lawn because they heard we were Americans.
Anyway...then we drove to this guy's friends house. WOW! It is definitely the O.C. of Africa. It was amazing! We were in awe as we were driving up a huge mountain looking out the windows at the view of the whole city, the turquoise ocean, the mountains in the distance...it was pretty awesome! So
drivewaydrivewaydriveway

this is the driveway at the house we went to
we drive up this steep hill into gated homes and get to this beautiful house with a big flat screen, open bar, and pool table and stuff. We just hung out there all night and it was pretty fun. We had a braai and they provided endless steaks that were DELISH! I think the best I have ever had! We watched rugby, watched the sunset, and sat amazed at how totally random and crazy our day had been. Then some of us wanted snacks at the store and for very safe reasons they needed someone to drive. I volunteered! And did a good job! Driving a stick, in a new country, on the wrong side of the road, with my left hand, down steep hills....sounded like a challenge but it was easy and fun! I loved it! Good times.....
Anyway, that's about all I got for now....Oh and we went to this huge, pretty, garden, reserve place last night for an african concert. It was pretty cool. I'll see if I can put some pix up of it. I saw a girl there who really looked like she had Rett. I asked the lady she was with and she said she had Cerebral Palsy but she had never been tested for anything really. She is turning 17 this year! Reminded me of ANNIE 😊 I miss ROO!
Love you all! Hope to hear from you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

ButchButch
Butch

pretty cool dog
amazingamazing
amazing

fun day, nice view, cool ppl
braaibraai
braai

i dont know if you can see but this house had a built in braai....on the left


18th February 2008

YES, THIS IS WOW!
now i see what you mean bethany your beautiful tan (lots of warm sunshine) many friends (great times/memories) gorgeous home to visit (hospitality) unbelievable (enjoy) love you, stay as long as you like, M
19th February 2008

Hello Sun
Bethnay, Are you sure your in Africa and not Palm Spring. Thanks for the tour...must say that i never would of dreamed it looked so beautiful. Stay safe, learn lots and keep us up dated. The sun, flowers and views were so nice. Palm 121:5-6
21st February 2008

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike
HEY friend!! I'm glad your having as awesome time down there. This story about the bike is crackin' me up!I would have given anything to watch your reaction after finding out someone stole your basket! haha. You're pictures are beautiful...I'm jealous!! I just wanted to say hello...teach me affrikkans!!
24th February 2008

Nice Tan!
Looks like you are soaking up some rays. When I tried riding my bike with grocies in Europe I crashed into some bushes...you faired better than I did. Keep having fun!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb