Penguins and Cape Point


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
February 28th 2007
Published: February 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cape Point BeachCape Point BeachCape Point Beach

Dont swim here please- it is very dangerous
This Saturday I spent the day in Cape Town, and as usual it was a beautiful day. We started with a drive along the coast to Cape Point, which is where the Cape of Good Hope is as well. It is also where the Indian and Atlantic Oceans meet there and the place explores originally thought to be the southern most point of Africa, but that is actually an additional 150Km farther. I got my first real encounters with baboons there, they are not cuddly or cute they are actually quite disgusting and mean. We were lucky enough to only encounter them on the bus but were advised to not show food at all or carry lots of food in our bags as they like to steel them. After spending a couple hours there we had a fabulous lunch at a restaurant in Simonstown right on the water. We had 2 hours for lunch and as is typical for south Africa it was not quite enough time, and we had to specify to our waiter that we were in a hurry! It was then off to see African Penguins. That was the best part of the day. They are so much fun and I would like to steel one to have as a pet. It was mating season as well so we got an up-close and personal views. In addition got to see them sitting with eggs. We didn’t have time to go to the beach but if you go a few minutes farther you can actually go to a beach where they live and play in the water with them- although they do have a harsh bite we’re told.
Sunday was fairly uneventful, I wrote a long paper, yes believe it or not I’m doing my school work. It was not as bad as I thought, and it is kind of nice to be engaging my brain again. In addition, I started my search for law schools- I got a little bored. I feel like a senior in high school all over again! Being in South Africa has inspired me to peruse human rights law even more, putting away my original thoughts that I wont be able to make any money. I have learned about all these International Organizations that focus on things I want to peruse, and I think I could actually make a good career out of it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

DassieDassie
Dassie

This animal has the genes of an elephant and a rat, it also has really smelly urine
I heart penguinsI heart penguins
I heart penguins

This one has an egg under each wing
TortiseTortise
Tortise

These guys live 15 minutes from me:) I want to keep one


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb